Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



April 05, 2002 - 8:21 p.m.

Good things come to those who wait�.

Yeah, I know�.I didn�t come up with that fine saying myself. It's old, but it really applies to my Codeman today.

Mac vs. Springfield High. Codeman is on the bench. Nothing new there.

But as I am walking from my truck I notice something that makes my blood boil. On third base is a sophomore! A total of 6 upperclassmen haven�t started a game yet, and Codeman and one other kid haven�t even been in a game yet!

Now, don�t get me wrong. I like this sophomore; he�s a good kid and a decent ballplayer.

But, he is about 5� tall, and he is (I repeat) a sophomore who wasn�t supposed to be playing with the varsity. I can see moving a kid up if he is far superior to the upperclassmen, or if you are short handed. But not if you have 6 players on the bench that can play ball and haven�t even been given a chance to show it. That�s a good way to wreck the chemistry on a ball club.

The first two balls hit to 3rd ended up being errors on the kid. He threw the first one over the first baseman�s head, and the second he booted to load the bases. The pitcher worked out of the jam and held them scoreless. The pitcher happens to be the big brother of the third baseman, so that was kinda nice.

He went 0-3 from the plate. The fans were all grumbling about this move, but I did a pretty good job of keeping my disgust to myself.

Mac pulled out to a 7-0 lead after the visitors had batted in the 4th, and guess what?

Codeman started the inning on the on-deck circle, swinging a bat. Were my eyes deceiving me? Was he finally getting a chance to play after eight games?

He batted for the starting catcher, so I figure he was just pinch-hitting (since he is a lefty, and can�t play behind the plate). He managed to draw a walk off a tough left-handed pitcher. The next batter hit the ball directly to the shortstop for an easy double play.

Not. Codeman came in hard a second, and the second baseman couldn�t make a throw to first.

Cool. He was out, but he saved the team from a double play. So he finally got in a game, got on base and did what he could on the base path.

Not bad.

When the inning was over, I figured he was done.

I was wrong. He went into the game in right field, and the new catcher (who also batted in the bottom of the inning) went in for the right fielder in the batting order.

The parents around me were concerned that I might have a heart attack. Somehow, I made it.

He only had one ball hit in his direction, and he made a full speed, ankle-high catch. He had to call off the second baseman, but he (Codeman) was the only one with a shot at the ball. The manager told him (when he got to the bench, after the inning) that he thought there was no way he could catch the ball where it was hit. Codeman told the coach he knew he would catch it all the way.

Confidence never hurts, right?

He did bat one more time before Mac won with the 10 run rule, but was called out on a pitch that almost hit his arm. The manager told him not to worry; he wouldn�t want him to swing at a pitch that far off the plate anyway.

I think the umpire was just cold and hungry, and wanted to go home.

To sum it up: Codeman finally got his chance to play. He was on base one of two at bats, and he made a nice catch in the field.

No wonder he still has a smile plastered on his face, 2 hours after the game ended�.


Ok, I have one more birthday request for you (if you don�t mind):

Tomorrow is Joleen�s birthday. I know she isn�t the type to make a big deal about such, but I would love it if you took the time to stop by her guestbook and leave here a little �happy b-day�.

Please be kind, too��


I managed to get the following planted in my garden #2 at work today during my lunch hour:

3 bundles (of 100) onion plants.

�Purple Dragon� carrots (yes, purple carrots. I don�t know why I planted them, either)

�Cylindra� beets

�French Breakfast� radish

�Oregon Spring� snow peas

�Spring Mix� lettuce

I had time to quickly put the onion plants in the soil, water them in, and then scratch the surface enough to burry the other�s seeds in the now-warming earth. I started at 11:30, and was walking into the break room at 11:55.

Guess what? �The Official Timekeeper of the World� was there, waiting on me. He turned his wrist, checked the time, and got up from the lunch table.

Fuck. I had left-over bbq pork, so I tossed it into the microwave for 2 minutes, threw it on a bun, and shoved it down my throat by 12 noon.

I was up from the table and walking out of the room before he could come in and tell me what time it was.

He wanted to nail me again for abusing the state�s time.

Too bad he didn�t get to.

And yes, my stomach paid me back for my speed-eating all afternoon.

I will have to start eating my lunch on my 2 pm break now, I guess���.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top