Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Jul. 06, 2002 - 5:17 p.m.

Since it�s Saturday, I won�t keep you long�

Several random thoughts��..

Three new (to me, at least) cds that are in constant rotation right now:

12 Stones- �self titled�-2002- A hard-rocking band out of New Orleans, they have a sound that is at once instantly recognizable, yet still sounds fresh. If you like your rock in the Pearl Jam-Creed vein, you will like this disc.

Loudermilk-�The Red Album�-2002- Hard to pigeonhole this band. They list their influences as band such as Guns N� Roses and Motley Crue, and yet sound very little like them. More like Incubus or Hoobastank, which is what the AMG lists as similar artists, they play a more modern sounding variety of metal. With odd song titles like �Estrogen Oxygen Aches in the Teeth Again� and �Kreates a Presence to Blush�, they write well-crafted chunks of fast, hard music.

The Screamin� Cheetah Wheelies-�Magnolia�-1996-I missed this one when it came out, and picked up a used copy with my last eBay purchases. A classic southern-rock band that had the misfortune to come out at the height of the Grunge era, the Wheelies made some great jam music in the tradition of the Black Crowes and Big Head Todd and the Monsters. This album might be a little too �old� sounding for anyone under 30, but would appeal to anyone who grew up on 70�s hard rock.

Hey-three mini reviews today makes up for my slacking off the last month or so, doesn�t it?


Five hours of shopping today, only interrupted for a lunch break.

Hit the downtown farmer�s market early. I came home with a few ripe tomatoes and � a peck of nice, unripe peaches. Since my crop is looking so poorly, these might be the best local peaches I get all year.

The guy who grows the Oyster mushrooms hasn�t been at the market all summer. I hope he is well.

I figured it was time to make rags out of my sweat shorts, now that the elastic on most of them started unraveling and the drawstrings were broken and falling out. I always slip a pair of these shorts on when I dry off from my evening shower, and I haven�t bought any new pairs for at least 2 years. Wallyworld had Haynes� shorts marked down to $3.50 a pair. I love a bargain.

We also spent some time at our local mall (bought zilch) and the new antique mall that opened in our old railroad station (zilch there, too).

I was tempted by a display of old aluminum cast dies that were used by the company that manufactured kites here in Mohall (until they closed their doors in the late 1970�s). Somebody had picked up all of these dies (used to screen ink designs onto the kite�s paper) when the company went out of business years ago, but they wanted a little too much for them (in my opinion). There were several priced as low as $15, but if they had any kind of interesting design, or the brand name of the company (Hi-Flier) on them they went to $40 and up.

Cool item, but too much. Maybe I can barter with the owner if they are still there a few months from now.


Hey, I said I would be quick, so I will sign off here.

I have a new photo album to fill, and tons of .jpg files that need printing. I spent a couple of hours yesterday organizing the last 12 months worth of our commercially processed prints into the last album. When I started thinking about how many pictures I have shoot and saved with the digital camera just now, I realized that one album wouldn�t be enough.

It will be enough for now, thought. I will run out of printer ink before I finish printing them up.

Have a good one��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top