Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Jul. 23, 2002 - 7:56 p.m.

The sky is falling! The sky is falling!�Oh, wait�.

You have to remember; it hasn�t rained here in quite a while.

How long?

Try 32 days.

Yeah, we did have a few times when enough spit fell from the sky to water-spot the truck�s windshield, but that doesn�t count as rain.

That is just annoying. Especially after you just detailed your car.

No, the last time we had a measurable rain (before last evening) was on June 20th.

After another unbearably hot and humid day, the long-awaited cold front pushed through around dinnertime. The wind switched from the southwest to the northeast, picking up in intensity just before the rain started falling. For the next several hours, heavy rain and severe thunderstorms flirted with our town, only to track just to the north or south. The heaviest rain fell in the next county north of us. They received up to 3 inches of rain in the same time period.

Here at our house, we had a decent .5 inches of rain. Not nearly enough to make up for the past month, but a nice addition to the hose-supplied water for my garden areas.

Since the grass is now dormant, I don�t care if enough rain falls to start greening it up again. It�s the course of nature for our prairie state to have periods of dormancy.

Just not in my gardens, that�s all�..


We picked up 1.1 inches of rain at the storage.

Yes! I don�t have to drag the hose out this week!

That would be 450 feet of hose, by the way. The (end of the) garden at work is that far from the nearest water spigot.

If I want to have a garden, I have to run water to it.

Now you can see why I look forward to rainfall, can�t you?


Today�s weather was great. High around 80�, with crisp, clear air from up north.

And no humidity.

Too bad it�s not here to stay.

Friday�s forecast is for mid-90�s and high humidity again.

Figures�..


My cds arrived today.

Well, J-Rod and my cds. The ones we won on eBay a few weeks back.

One problem, thought. The package contained 23 cds.

We won 24.

The missing disc?

The one that J-Rod really wanted.

Figures.

The seller is one of the largest on eBay. For that reason, I can understand when something gets misplaced now and then. I have bought something like 200 cds from them in the past 3 years, and this has only happened once before. They sent the missing disc priority mail, and I had it in my sweaty hands in just a few days.

J-Rod will have to wait until that happens, I guess.


For those out there thinking �200 cds? What is wrong with Roadiepig?�, remember this:

Most of the time, when I bid at this persons auctions, I have one new cd that I really want to pick up. If I win that disc, I then start bidding on some of their other auctions. Since all of their auctions start at .01 cent, I sometimes pick up several cds for less than a buck. Add shipping, and I am still out only a couple of bucks.

It�s a good way to pick up some off-the-wall stuff, and I have picked up several great cds by bands that were unknown at the time, but later broke out big-time.

This shipment was (supposed to be) 24 cds, and after adding shipping the total was under $80.

That�s right: An average of $3.33 per cd.

Since I still buy many cds at the local record store at market prices, I am still supporting artists.

But I really like getting one of these mixed-up boxes of music.

I never know what I will find this way. The big record labels only push a few artists, leaving the rest to fend for themselves. Because of that, a lot of great music gets left undiscovered. With this method of purchasing, I get a few duds, some so-so stuff, and a few gems I would never have heard any other way.

And that�s what I have always liked about new music. You never know what you�re gonna fall in love with next�


One last thing : thanks to everyone who wrote me with kind words about my photo page yesterday.

Like I said, I love playing around with a camera, so I will add more �photo-only� pages as time (and my internet provider�s storage space) permit.

I think I have some cool shots of Codeman as a baby that he wouldn�t want you to see.

No, I wouldn�t do that to him.

I guess I should clear them with him first, shouldn�t I?

Anyway�..

The next time I get around to it, I will try to get into the early 80�s.

I have told y�all I was old before, haven�t I ���.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top