Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Sept. 09, 2002 - 7:40 p.m.

Good intentions, but not enough time to get everything done�

Lease had to pull a 11-7 shift tonight because so many of her fellow workers are off right now. One�s due to give birth any day now, another is just sick, and the new employees haven�t been trained enough to be left alone in the evening hours.

So, even though Lease has seniority on about half her coworkers, she is stuck pulling the shit shifts for several days this month.

I figured if she had to work late, tonight would be a good night to get caught up on a few tasks that have been backing up on me here.

What did I get accomplished?

1. We returned the killer ladder to Mikey. Codeman and I loaded it onto the roof of the Hillbilly truck, and we drove under the speed limit (just to be safe) to his house.

2. We drove over to Bug�s house and picked his wine- varietal grapes. He has been on me for about 10 days to do this, but I was just too busy to fit him into my schedule. Tonight, I found the time to stop by his house. I ended up almost filling a five-gallon bucket with the blush-red grapes.

3. After a food stop (Long John Silvers- bleh!), I crushed and cooked the grapes, extracting the juice from the chaff. I had ended up with about 4 quarts of juice.

4. I made a batch of jam with some of the juice (10 half-pints total jam), and added sugar to the rest of the juice. I froze about half, and put the rest into a pitcher. It is now cooling in my �fridge. I think a glass will taste good with breakfast tomorrow.

5. I sorted the recycle bins and hauled them to the curb for tomorrow�s pickup.

That�s what I got done.

Here is what I would have liked to get done, but didn�t:

1. I didn�t pick all the ripe tomatoes in my garden. And there is a cartload of them out there right now. From my second floor window I can see many red globes, waiting to be ripped from the vine.

2. Since I didn�t get the tomatoes picked, that means I didn�t gat another batch of salsa made.

3. Give me a few minutes, and I will think of something else I didn�t do.

Yeah, I know�that�s too much work for a weeknight.

This is my last week of �early hours�. I need to get as much garden work done as possible before I start getting off work later in the day.


Rowdy is missing. Yesterday, D.D.N.�s wife asked us if we had seen him that day. We hadn�t, and she said she feared that someone had taken him.

Tonight, D.D.N. was in his back yard, watching his boys play on the trampoline. Since this was the first time I have been able to talk to him since his visit from the D.E.A. , I used Rowdy for an excuse to say hi.

He also said he feared someone had taken his dog. His chain was still there, and the snap hook had to be released by hand for him to be off of the chain.

Could the theft of his dog be related to the present �turf wars� he is involved in?

Could be�..


I did find time to fill a bowl with cherry tomatoes for Lease�s lunches. As I walked through the beds, I walked up on a young (but, by no means baby) rabbit. It scurried out of my garden and headed under the fence and into the D.D.N.�s back yard.

Where it was promptly captured, and then killed, by his mangy little tom cat.

I know this, because his boys were yelling at the cat to leave the bunny alone. D.D.N. told me to come and see what his cat had done. I walked over just in time to see the cat pick the rabbit up by the neck, and then dragged it off to a more private area. I imagine he made a meal out of Peter Cottontail.

The cat isn�t much bigger than the bunny, but then again bunnies don�t have sharp claws and incisor teeth, do they?

Now, if only this cat would just get the taste for tree rats. I told D.D.N. that I would pay him a bounty next summer if he could get his cat to guard my peach trees���..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top