Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Nov. 08, 2002 - 10:19 p.m.

It was windy today. Very windy�.(plus a few new photos)

How windy was it?

Glad you asked.

The high temperature was 68�. I have another 6 hours of Personal Business to use by the end of the year, or I loose it. The White bass have been slamming my jigs for the last month, including in the rain just 4 days ago (Tuesday).

I put in my full 8 hours, most of it making brine.

Why didn�t I just bail out and go fishing?

The simplest answer would be dedication to my job (stop laughing!)

The main reason was that strong wind. I almost always go with light to ultra-light fishing tackle. The Whites have been hitting on very slow retrieves, but they want a lure that copies the size of the gizzard shad they are gorging on here in the short days of late fall. That means I have to use a very small lead jig head (homemade, 1/32 ounce, painted with hot pink paint and top coated with Lease�s sparkle-flash nail polish), but I have to use a larger than normal twister tail. I have been using a 3� opaque chartreuses tail, cutting (ok, biting off) about one-half of the body. That leaves a 2 �� long tail. It also means I will be trying to throw the fishing equivalent of a hang glider into a 40 mph wind.

That just don�t work.

I have tried (futilely) to fish in those conditions. Futility is a pretty good description. Most of your casts end up blowing back at your feet. The fish might be feeding, but it�s damn near impossible to get out to them.

I figure there will be at least one or two more days for prime fishing before snow starts falling (our 6-10 day forecast is for much above normal; temps- sounds good to me).

No sense in wasting what time I have left on a windy day like today�.


How windy was it (part 2)?

On my drive home, a beach ball rolled in front of Codeman�s car (He took Lease�s car, Lease drove the truck, and I had Codeman�s car so he could take Chelsea to Springpatch today- in case you wondered..) as I drove home.

I was headed directly north, and crossed 4 lanes of traffic on our main east-west road on the north side of town.

Why was a $1, white/green/red/blue/and yellow inflatable beach toy rolling across the busiest road in town?

Don�t know.

It�s not like we are near a beach here in Mohall. The closest one would be where I have been catching the White bass, 35 miles south of here.

Hum- as strong as the wind was, and if it was about 30 degrees warmer, I would think it might have come from there�.


Enough wind for one day- I have some photos fro you�

Yeah, like you didn�t know already, as slow as this page musta loaded up for you�

All week, as I drove home from work, I have wanted to take the time to capture some of the incredible color this fall�s leaves have given us. Not much time after work (it�s dark about 40 minutes after I leave the storage), but tonight was the night.

We had been under full sun and a incredible deep-blue sky all day, so I thought tonight would be perfect to get the color. The only problem? As I drove home, the sun dropped low enough in the sky to be obscured by low-lying clouds.

No problem. I was a man on a mission. I loaded up the digital with fresh batteries, and I headed out the door.

I have about 20 shots I want to share with you, but that�s not practical. Too much storage space, and it would take too long to load up here in D-land.

So, here are my three favorites (for various reasons):

Shot one is of the bright red leaves that caught my eye earlier this week. The entire front yard of this house was a carpet of red before the wind kicked up today. Still, the color was still bright, mixed with some browns and greens:

Photo #2 is of�well, I�ll leave it to you to figure out what it is:

The last one is of a old road that is still composed of old paving bricks. Yeah, I was flat on my belly when I took it:

Lease wants to take a few more fall photos tomorrow (especially if the boy can spare a few minutes), so I might have to post another page on Photogra later this weekend.

If I do, I will let you know��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top