Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Nov. 22, 2002 - 11:09 a.m.

Waiting on the furnace guys. Read this on the news wire. Thought you should know how dangerous beauty pageants have become�.

Yeah, I�m killing time. Surfing while I wait on the return of the two men who are installing my furnace.

I did all the work I planned on doing (raked the rest of the freakin� leaves, trimmed my shrubs, cut down the dead peony bushes, and put up everything that needed put up for the rapidly approaching winter), and I decided to catch up on a little reading when I found a link to the article below in Tornadoali�s diary (a new writer here in D-land- you should check her page out):

50 dead in riots over beauty pageant article

- - - - - - - - - - - -

Associated Press

Nov. 21, 2002 | LAGOS, Nigeria -- Rioters stabbed pedestrians and torched churches during violent demonstrations Thursday in the northern city of Kaduna. The Red Cross said more than 50 people died and 200 were wounded.

The protests were triggered by a newspaper article suggesting Islam's founding prophet might have chosen a wife from among contestants in the Miss World beauty pageant in Nigeria.

More than 50 people were stabbed, bludgeoned or burned to death and 200 were seriously injured in the violence in predominantly Muslim neighborhoods, Nigerian Red Cross President Emmanuel Ijewere told The Associated Press. At least four churches were destroyed, he said.

People are strange all over.

That�s what I think, anyway��.


Still waiting. They removed the old furnace and ac coil, left all their tools and such on the basement floor, and left. That was about an hour ago. They said they would be right back.

An hour? Was there a long line at Mr. Doughnut?

What do they think they are, State workers?

(I can say that, because I am one��)


I have a few new (to me, anyway) diaries for you to check out. I have discovered them (or is it that they discovered me?) through those damn banner ads that I can get shut down. I wanted 2000 to run, and I am now up to 12,654. Multiple emails haven�t stopped the overkill.

Anyway�.

Drewbear writes a Blog-style diary, adding a little to his page each day. The fact that he includes photos with each entry is a plus, in my book. One problem, though- he hasn�t set up any way to contact him, either by notes or a guestbook. Maybe , if he reads this, he will start one of them�.

theotherchad is another new writer here in D-land, and a grownup to boot. His observations are on the mark, and funny, too�.

mychai has been writing here for some time, but I hadn�t crossed paths with him before recently. I�m glad he stopped by to say hi. Now, I just need some time to read back into his 280+ entries.

Three new diaries, all written by adult men? What�s this place coming to?

sera1231 I another one of those prolific writers that I have somehow missed reading before this week. Funny, and with 280+ entries in her past, I need some time to catch up on her writings, too�.

If I left anyone else out, I�m sorry. These are just the people who have stopped by my �journal� recently, and I wanted to let others know about their diaries.

Still waiting.

I bet if I leave for a Value Meal, they will pass me in their pickup truck��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top