Today's music?

Holly Cole Trio - "Blame It On My Youth" (1992 - Capitol Recods....Jazz standards, reinterpreted by young trio)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Jan. 23, 2003 - 7:07 p.m.

A quandary , very cold showers, and an illogical fear of chemical reactions�

Yes, I meant to use the word �quandary�. I even looked it up, to make sure its definition fit what I wanted it to mean.

Here�s the Encarta definition:

quan�da�ry [ kw�nd ree, kw�ndree ] (plural quan�da�ries)

noun

dilemma: a state of uncertainty or indecision as to what to do in a particular situation

[Late 16th century. Of uncertain origin.]

(Used without permission from Microsoft�. Let them sic the dogs upon me) .

Here is MY quandary:

A coworker asked me if I would be willing to shoot his son�s wedding pictures for him. The son and his fianc� cannot afford a �real� wedding photographer. He told them I do all right, so they want me to let them look at my past work, and to discuss my fees, if they like what they see.

He did this before he asked me if I wanted to do the job. He has done me a couple fo favors through the years, so I kinda feel like I should do the shoot.

But there are a couple of things holding me back. The last time I did a wedding, I decided it would be my last. I only do them for friends or family, and I usually don�t make as much per hour doing it as I do sitting at my desk at work. I worry the whole time I am there, and until the finished photos are in my hand.

I haven�t done that many weddings. I might have done as many as 6 or 7 in the past decade.

I don�t own the quality equipment that the pros do. The last few weddings I did, I used my two Cannon� Rebel bodies, with my came-with-the-camera 35-70mm lens and my 28-210mm wide angle/zoom lens. I don�t have high-speed winders, or the nice parabolic flashes that give the professional photographer the well-lit look they have in their indoor pictures. I have a $35 Vivitar add-on flash that takes about 20 seconds to recharge between photos.

I do have the use of the Fuji� digital camera this time around. If I do this job, I imagine over 50% of my stills will be on this camera. That way, I can burn the files onto cd-r�s using the �photo album� feature from my cd burner, and make multiple copies for them to give away (if they like). I could use Photogra to make the prints, too. They don�t charge any more than the local drug store, and I can have the photos shipped directly to the married couple.

But my quandary (no, I didn�t forget) is this: I totally stress out when I shoot a wedding. I end up drenched in sweat, and in need of a stiff drink when I leave. I always worry that a camera will fail on me, or that I will capture every photo with somebody�s eyes closed, all of which will be out of focus.

Did I mention that this coworker is one of the people who wants to be the next Mohall #1? I really don�t like the thought of screwing up his son�s wedding photos, and then have him be my boss for the next 10 years.

I just don�t know if it�s worth all the hassle.

I will take him my album with the photos I kept from the weddings I shot to work tomorrow. That way, he can let the happy couple make their minds up on whether my work is good enough for their pocketbook.

Maybe, if I am lucky, they will decide they can afford a real photographer.

If not�wish me luck.


You don�t know how really cold it is until you have to take a shower in my basement this time of year.

The high today was 5� F.

The temperature in my basement is somewhere in the low 50�s. With the cost of natural gas going through the roof, I don�t have the ducts open in the basement right now. The only thing we use it for when it�s this cold is laundry, second toilet, and my miserable showers.

I never complain about the temperature being too cold. I walk outside in shorts to pick up the newspaper in the morning, even this time of year. I only wear slippers outside (to pick up Sproutman, who won�t climb our back steps) when the mercury drops to the teens.

But these icy showers are a pain. I was in and out tonight in about 3 minutes.

Quick, but clean.

Yes, I scrubbed behind my ears.


One last thing:

Lease always uses Snuggle� �Fresh Rain� scented liquid fabric softener in the washing machine.

Last week when we went shopping at Wallyworld, I grabbed a refill of Snuggle� �Sweet Harmony� scent by mistake. (Click here, if you want a $1 off coupon for this stuff. I used their Website to get the names right, and noticed the $1 off offer, so I now pass it on to you�.)

We usually just refill the old plastic container with the cardboard �milk carton� refill. You save about a buck doing it this way.

I don�t think I will dump the �Sweet Harmony� into the �Fresh Rain� bottle, though.

I fear some explosive chemical reaction would follow the mixing of such opposing scents���.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top