Today's music?

Silence........



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Feb. 15, 2003 - 9:06 p.m.

It was bad today. Very bad�

The worst winter storm we have experienced since 1999.

We have already received something like 7� of snow, but with the wind blowing it horizontally at 30-45 miles per hour, it�s kinda hard to measure.

I spent 2 hours in a ditch late this afternoon. I was there because I didn�t want my truck to be rear-ended by another typically intelligent SUV driver.

I have said it before, but it bears repeating: just because your vehicle comes equipped with 4-wheel drive, it doesn�t mean you can drive in any situation. Ice will eat you up, n o matter what you are driving. The high profile of a SUV or a large pick-up truck means your center of gravity is also very high, making you more likely to roll over. The lack of weight over the rear wheels means you can loose traction very quickly in any winter driving situation BESIDES deep snow.

I swear�. this crap happens to one of us every snow! Some Bozo loose control of their Hummer, and one of our guys has to pee in a cup because of a collision.

I am slowly loosing my sympathy of people who consider a Winter Storm Warning as an invitation to plop the traction selector into all-wheel drive and hit the highways.

And the back end of a snowplow truck, too.

This person (Man? Woman? Don�t know) was driving too fast for conditions, lost control and was headed straight towards my truck. I was completely on the driving lane shoulder, pushing back 3� tall snowdrifts.

Either I let them smack me at about 30 mph (causing severe injury to the occupants of the SUV), or a turned my truck sharply into the ditch.

I ended up buried in 3 foot of snow. The first truck sent to pull me out didn�t have enough salt in the back, and couldn�t get enough traction to move me. The second truck (a tandem) pulled me out after 10 minutes of yanking and pulling.

Oh yeah, the driver of the SUV managed to roll down their window and flip me off, once they regained control of their vehicle.

Nice to know my work is appreciated.

I should have let them hit me, but the paperwork is a bitch��


One more really peachy-keen item:

The photographer for the local paper stopped by long enough to shoot several pictures of my stuck truck. This, in whiteout visibility, with stinging snow hitting you like bb�s if you stood outside for any amount of time.

This is the third time he has shot a photo of me for the newspaper in the last 12 months. I would have preferred he had skipped this one.

Thanks a lot, Carlos��


I heard this message repeated many times today on the NOAA weather band on my state radio:

Any travel is strongly discouraged. If you leave the safety of being indoors�.You are putting your life at risk!

Yeah, that sounds about right��.


I�m off to bed. I am sure I have another 12-hour day of �fun� ahead for me tomorrow. The wind should die around mid-day, but it will take another 12 hours to clean up what has moved around, and to melt the 1� thick ice that is coating most of the roadway.

Please drive safely��.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top