Today's music?

The Churchills - "You Are Here* " (2000 - Universal Records)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Feb. 18, 2003 - 8:52 p.m.

Odds and ends�

The first workday after a big snow always is a pain.

I had to call in orders for supplies we used during the storm. I had to get 3 plow reversing cylinders to the hydraulic repair shop to be rebuilt (I didn�t have to physically take them there, but I did have to get the ball rolling). I had something like 150 fuel tickets to enter into the computer, along with a dozen purchase orders that were gathering dust on my desktop. If I don�t put them into the system, they won�t get paid.

Oh yeah, and make sure you get the place cleaned up too, Roadiepig.

I didn�t get around to that unappreciated task until after 2 pm. There was a combination of mud mixed with transmission fluid running down the hallway into the bathroom. The transmission fluid was spread around due to several broken hoses during the snow, with no time between repairs to spread oil-dry to soak up the mess. People walked thru it, and then went to the John.

It came up with a little effort.

I don�t usually do anything all day (according to some people), so all of this extra work comes as a pleasant change of pace�


Late in the afternoon, I was finishing my computer work, putting the last of the fuel tickets into the system. Beavis (or technician, and therefore our lead workers� boss) came into the office and asked me if I was at a point where I could take a brake. He had a handful of salt tickets he wanted to put into the system.

Normally, I would just sign off and let him have my terminal. But today wasn�t one of those days.

The �new slim clients� had been offline for most of the day. I had started my data processing in the morning, only to get booted off twice. Same thing happened in the period after lunch. For that reason I wanted to finish up while the computer was still alive.

I told Beavis to give me 5 minutes, and then I would be done.

Too most people, this wouldn�t be a problem. But Beavis isn�t an actual �human being�, and the people from his planet who prepared him for his journey to Earth didn�t teach him the meaning of patience.

He stood about 3 feet away form me with his papers in his hands, watching me input my numbers into the system. I only glanced at him once, noticed the silly grin on his mug, and went back to my typing. I didn�t slow down, but I didn�t speed up any either.

When 5 minutes had passed, I was complete. I clicked on the �sign off� icon, picked up my papers, and got out of my chair. He was in it before I left the office.

He is such an odd man. He had just left his field office a few minutes before he came to the storage. He has a terminal there, so he could have done this work before he came over.

My guess is he couldn�t get his �new slim client� to reset, so he brought his work with him. I had been playing around with our terminals all day, and like I said I had just got them back up and running when he showed up.

He could have pulled rank and told me to get off, but instead he just pulled one of his weird stunts instead.

I am almost 6�4� tall, so he doesn�t intimidate me with his presence. He might be 5�8� tall in his Sunday dress shoes. So if he thought standing next to me and looking over my shoulder as I typed was intimidating, he was sadly mistaken.

Now, I know I have mentioned Beavis here many times, but I have never posted a picture of him before now.

This is NDDOT�s very own Beavis:

O.k., I admit it: the photo is of Rowan Atkinson, the British actor who is best know for his character �Bean�.

But he does look an awful lot like him.

Acts silly like the Bean character, too��


The bulbs I potted up and buried in the garden are now inside our house. I brought them inside a couple of weeks ago, during one of our few thaw cycles this winter.

I noticed today that the daffodils are almost ready to bloom. The tulips (2 pots of them) look pretty good, too. Maybe this year I will get them to actually produce flowers.

I also have a mason jar with about 10 forsythia branches in it. They were also cut 2 weeks ago. They are in full bloom today.

I would take a photo of them and post it, but I already did that last year. This is the easiest plant I know of to force into bloom out of season. If you have one of these bushes on your property, you should try this project: Cut a handful of short branches that contain many buds. Put them into water on a cool porch or in your basement. Two weeks later- a bunch of blooms.

That�s all there is to it. Brings a little bit of spring indoors when things are gloomy (like they are about now). You can do this up until late March.


The Illini totally destroyed Michigan State tonight 70-40.

I enjoyed watching the game, but was feeling a little sorry for the Spartans by the time the game ended. The Illini have been only average since the Big Ten season began, so they need to win all of their home games to have a shot at another championship this year (that would be 3 in a row, for those keeping score).

One statement (metaphor?) that the color commentator made tonight made me laugh out loud. It was after a really bad 3-point shot put up by the Michigan State center missed everything but the standard holding up the backboard:

�If he was throwing darts in your basement, that shot would be the dart that missed the dartboard and is sticking out of your drywall�.

I thought that was a creative way to describe futility, anyway�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top