Today's music?

Tony Remy - "Boof!" (1994- GRP records) instrumental Funk-Jazz bass player



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, May. 06, 2003 - 9:15 p.m.

Another long drive, another loss �plus- how cheap is your local greenhouse?

Yeah, I�m a fool.

I drove all the way to Flowertown again top watch Codeman�s baseball team play another one of that town�s public high school teams.

They lost again, and Codeman didn�t even get into the ballgame.

They were tied heading into the bottom of the last inning, but the other squad eked out a scratch run on a base hit, sacrifice bunt, and error, followed by a walk and a base hit.

A loss is still a loss.

We still have around 10 games to go, and with only 9 wins the third consecutive 20-win season the coach talked about is not in the cards.

All together now: awwwwwwwww!

Hey, at least they can�t blame our losses on the boy, right? If he isn�t given the chance to even play, he can�t be the reason why they can�t cleanly field a ground ball.

Or make a throw from third base to first.

Or catch a routine fly ball (two dropped tonight. Again).

Or get picked off 1st base.

Or run into a double play because you don�t notice that the batter just hit a line drive to the second baseman, even though he is right in front of you, and you instead run to second base anyway (Yup- that happened tonight. Again).

Two more weekday trips out of town. One more weekend out of town. And probably a road game to start the (short) playoff run. All of the rest of the games are at home.

I think I can make it the rest of the way. It�s sorta like running a long marathon, except I get to sit in the bleachers and watch kids play baseball�..


On the way up, I stopped at the local Lowes to buy some flowers. Lease needed these for a Mother�s Day gift for a woman she worked with (years ago) at a local pre-school. Jean isd now in her mid-70�s, and has been in poor health the past year or so. She has been more like a mother to Lease than her �actual� mother,, and she always tries to make sure she knows that she is loved and appreciated on this holiday.

Since she can onlytake the flowers to her tomorrow (she has a wicked schedule the rest of the week, due to the job transfer), she asked me to pick her up the following:

A hanging basket with bright red geraniums in it (Jean�s favorite flower and color).

A flat filled with mixed flowers. She wanted me to find low-growing, direct sun bedding plants that were full of color.

I was able to pick up a nice hanging basket at Lowes, but their selection of bedding plants was a little picked over. The clerk told me that a semi-load was due in tomorrow if I could wait until then.

I couldn�t.

I decided to stop at the Expensive greenhouse in the town at the North end of my snowplow route (does that make sense?). I used to by much of my garden�s bedding plants there , years ago, but they have become a little too pricy for my frugal tastes. Since this was a gift, I figured it would be worth the extra cost to get top-quality plants.

I filled a tray with two intensely colored marigolds (Disco Marietta and Bonanza Bolereo), and 4 packs each of Gazinias and Moss Rose. I also picked up a couple of perennials for my shade bed.

When the woman behind the counter added my total up, it was a little shocking- $25.96!

For a flat of flowers I could have bought in town at my usual store (The Farmer�s Market) for around $12.00.

Oh well- we needed them today, so I wrote out my check.

While I was doing this, the checker started taking my plants out of the cheap-o plastic �flat�, and was putting them into a cardboard Budweiser case flat box.

�Wait a minute- we are giving these flowers as a Mother�s Day gift. Can�t you just leave them in the plastic flat�, I asked.

�No, we have to reuse them. They won�t let us give them away�, was her response.

Let me get this straight- you have the highest prices in the county, and then you are too cheap to let the customer take home the pices of plastic that the flowers are carried in, just to make a little more money?

I swear, I almost left them on the counter. I would have, if I didn�t know that I had a few of these throw-away plastic flats that holds the square containers in my basement garage.

I can promise you one thing- I won�t be stopping there for flowers in the future. There are just too many good sources for garden plants.

No reason to spend my money at a place that doesn�t appreciate your patronage�.


Oh yeah- one more thing:

The other woman behind the counter took the plants out of the Budweiser flat, and put them into a R.C. Cola flat instead. She said she could understand why I didn�t want to give a gift in a beer company�s box.

Gee, thanks!

Nothing says �class� like a R.C. Cola cardboard flat!

Did I forget to tell you that my home-grown bedding plants are taking a beating on the patio, due to the heavy rains and high temperatures we have been having ?

I think I need to go to bed �����

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top