Today's music?

A mix cd of songs by the band "The Posies" (power pop from the early 1990's)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Jun. 19, 2003 - 5:41 p.m.

A flower that defines the word �Will� (photos included)�plus- the early bird rule doesn�t apply to black raspberries�

First off- a photo of a Black-eyed Susan growing at Casa Roadiepig:

Nothing unusual about this plant, is there? It bloomed a little bit before the rest of the Black-eyed Susan�s I have growing in assorted locations around the property. It stands about 3 feet tall, and has flowers that are almost 3 inches across.

Just a nice , early shot of summer color.

Except�.

Look at the next photo, and you will see why I decided to call this plant �Will�:

This is just another volunteer Black-eyed Susan, except for the fact the seed that sprouted this plant took root in a small crack in our driveway.

I have had them pop up in between bricks in the patio every year since the second year we lived here, but that is easier to understand. There is enough dirt mixed in with the sand between each brick to support the plants� roots, and if they send their roots down far enough, the plant will be able to tap into the soil underneath the patio.

But this plant is growing in what can be no more than a 3� square (roughly) area in the middle of the driveway, and I don�t think the crack goes down far enough to hit anything but solid concrete.

I have to water the BES�s that sprout in the patio once it starts to dry up in the summer, and I will do the same to this one. It went through all the trouble to grow in this tiny crack, watering it is the least I can to do help it survive�.


I just came home from picking black raspberries at my old-time spot. Since I have to drive about 20 minutes to reach the location (it�s on the eastern end of our county, and I found them there , years ago, while taking a break from mowing the state right-of-way), I don�t want to come home empty-handed.

Last year I did. The weather was too dry for the plants to fill out their berries, and none where there to be picked.

Since I have been picking wild raspberries at work for the past few days (they grow alongside of the security fence on the north side of my garden patch), and since the plants at work are few in numbers, I figured it was time to hit the big patch on the other side of the county.

One problem, though.

The canes at work are growing in full sun. No shade to be found anywhere in the area.

The plants growing on the R.O.W.?

Partial sun. Most only get morning sun followed by dappled shade the rest of the day.

That means they are about 3-10 days behind the ones at my workplace.

I did manage to pick about 4 cups of berries. But, if I can make it back there early next week I should be able to gather at least 2 gallons of ripe berries. I was only able to pick the middle fruit on most of the canes. Raspberries ripen by having the middle berry turn first, and then the 5-8 surrounding berries all ripen at about the same time a few days later.

I have to have the Hillbilly Truck�s brakes worked on next Wednesday, and I plan on leaving it at my friend Rick�s shop overnight on Tuesday.

The shop is about � the way between the raspberries and Casa Roadiepig. Tuesday is 5 days away, about the time when the rest of the fruit is in perfect ripeness.

Sounds like a plan to me.

The only thing that would mess it up for me would be if someone else knows of the raspberry spot.��..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top