Today's music?

Emmet Swimming - "Big Night without You" (1998 - Sony Music)....southern folk-rock..think Dave Matthews or Big Head Todd and t



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Jul. 06, 2003 - 7:51 p.m.

�That boy is to dumb to come in from the rain�� plus- my obsession with death revealed!

�That boy� would be me today.

When I got out of bed this morning (9 am- nice to get to sleep in again), it was already 88�. I knew I would have to try to finish my work outside before it became to hot to work again.

I finished my repair work on my Hillbilly boat, but only after some problems.

All I needed to do was mount the new seat on the wooden platform I made yesterday, and then replace the cracked right turn signal light fixture. Both jobs should have only taken me about an hour.

One problem, though- the seat I bought at Wallyworld was defective. I think some lowlife had bought this seat before me, and then stripped the threads on one of the nuts that hold the seat to the swivel platform. The head of the screw was stripped out, and all it did when I applied pressure on it was spin in place. Rather than tell the customer service person that they had damaged the seat, they probably just told the clerk behind the counter that they decided they didn�t need the seat. That is my guess.

If you ever return anything to Wallyworld, they will take it back � no questions asked. We have bought items that we were not sure would fit our needs (a rug and 2 platforms for the seats for my boat in just the last month alone), knowing that we could return them without any hassle.

But this little problem set me back the 45 minutes it took me to drive across town to replace the defective seat. Time is a valuable commodity in my life.

By the time I returned and finished working on the boat, the sun was directly overhead. We were under a severe thunderstorm watch, but the sky was blue. I thought I had time to mix and distribute Miracle Grow� before any rain fell.

I was right about the rain, but not about having time to do my task.

The sky clouded up somewhat, and then the sound of distant thunder (�How for off, I sat and wondered�) caught my attention. Since the sun was still out (partially), I started filling my buckets.

That was about the time that a �bolt from out of the blue� struck the tall maple tree in the back yard of my neighbor, two houses to the west. I swear, I heard the thunder at exactly the same time that the lightning burned the retinas of my eyes.

You never seen someone my size drop what he was doing and run to the back door as fast as I did at that moment. I didn�t want to wait to see if the next bolt was aimed at me.

I loaded Intelecast onto my computer screen to see how much rain was headed or way.

There was none. The screen showed a few random cells of heavy rain in counties to our west and south, but nothing inside of the borders of Mohall County.

None.

By the time I finished surfing my various weather web sites, the sun had popped back out. No rain of measurable amount had fell, but enough fell to make the air saturated with moisture. The temperature was up to 93�, too.

I mixed and dumped 5-gallon buckets of blue plant food on my veggie beds as quickly as I could. I did a quick pass over the lawn with the Toro�, and then decided that I had enjoyed the oppressive heat as much as I wanted to for a Sunday of rest.

I spent a total of 2 � hours working outside, and probably lost 5 pounds sweat weight in the process.

It took me the rest of the afternoon to rehydrate myself.

I still feel a little drained, though. Probably should expect leg cramps in the middle of the night (if my personal history means anything).


There are only 3 television programs in first run this summer that I don�t want to miss.

All three of them are shown for the first time on Sunday nights at about the same time.

They are:

�The Dead Zone� on USA network at 9 pm Central time.

�The Wire� on HBO at 8:30 pm Central.

�Dead Like Me� on Showtime at 9 p.m.(ok, this show�s first run is Friday night, but I wasn�t able to watch it then. Some holiday or another kept me busy)

Tonight will be VCR juggling for Roadiepig. I have already started a tape in the living room machine to tape �The Wire�. I have another tape loaded in the old Sanyo machine in the basement. Since it is stuck on SP( and cannot be programmed, let alone changed from SP- the remote died, and all my universal remotes won't change it), I have to wait until after 8 pm to start the recording process. This TV doesn�t get the pay channels, so I will use it to tape �The Dead Zone�.

If we don�t watch �Dead Like Me�, I will put another tape into Codeman�s machine.

Yes, we have too many TVs and too many VCRs.

But, in tonight�s case, that is a good thing. I have the rest of the week to watch the three shows I care about this summer.

One question, though:

Two of the shows I mention have �Dead� in their titles, and all three involve a lot of death in their main story lines ("The Wire" started the season with the discovery of 14 dead Russian hookers in a cargo container). �Six Feet Under � just finished its third season a few weeks ago, and I tried to watch every episode of it, too (even thought this season wasn�t nearly as good as the first two).

Is something wrong with an individual who looks forward to watching shows involving death as the main subject?

Maybe is should be a little worried about my state of mind.......

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top