Today's music?

The Figgs - "Low-Fi at Society High" (1994 - Imago Records)...think early Elvis Costello, with a heavier rock band behind him



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Jul. 10, 2003 - 6:55 p.m.

Never beat meat in public?�plus- my daily free comics are no longer free?

Lets see what was in the news this morning:

A worker in a food manufacturing plant in Chicago was decapitated when the gelatin machine he was cleaning (and it was a big machine- he was completely inside of it) was accidentally turned on by a coworker.

I wouldn�t want to be that coworker.

Two more young men who are in the military were killed in separate, random attacks in Iraq overnight. This makes 31 in the last 28 days.

This begs the question: Aren�t you glad the �Combat Phase� of this exercise is over?

Haven�t we lost more people now since the combat was declared �over� than we did during the war?

All that, and what is the only thing that made all of the morning newscast, not to mention it being the only thing anyone wanted to talk about on the radio today?

Randall Simon, first baseman for the Pittsburgh Pirates, and public meat beater.

Don�t know what I am writing about? I guess you haven�t been near any form or media in the last 24 hours.

Click here to read the story, and to watch the video of the incident

Here is the short story, if you don�t feel like traveling to ESPN.com:

The Milwaukee Brewers have their own special 7th inning stretch tradition. They have grow adults slip into suits that are reasonable facsimiles of sausages, if you were to look at sausages after dropping several tabs of LSD.

The 4 suits are supposed to represent a hot dog, polish sausage, bratwurst, and an Italian sausage.

These 4 wieners then run a race from the left field corner to a finish line set up at the end of the visiting team�s dugout. The race is fixed, of course- whomever is leading after the first 100 feet never wins. It is all played out for the kids in the stands (not that sausage racing is ever run anywhere else for any other reason).

The Roadiepig household has even viewed one of these �races�. We spent a summer vacation in Kenosha Wisconsin several years ago, and a Brewers game was part of our stay.

The Bratwurst won the race that night. I was cheering for the Polish, but then what do I know about �wurst racing?

Anyway, back to the strange story�

Randal Simon and the rest of the Pirates players not in the game were leaning against the top rail when the sausages ran past the dugout. Then, for some unexplained reason, Mr. Simon leaned over the railing and bopped the Italian sausage on the backside of the Italian sausage�s head, sending it (and the woman inside) tumbling to the ground. This caused the hot dog, closely following the Italian, to tumble to the ground too.

The race continued, with only the Polish crossing the finish line.

Both women who hit the ground needed treatment at the Brewer�s first aid station.

And, in a shocking development- Simon was handcuffed and taken to the local police station. He wasn�t charged with a crime, but was fined some odd amount of money for his actions ($432, I think? How do you come up with a fine for $432? Why not an even $450?)

Anyway��.

I stripped the wax off of � of the floor in the office, and then waxed most of the stripped area. This took up most of my workday. I had the radio playing in the background, because changing cds wasn�t an option. That is why I know too much about this incident, too.

Now you see why I wasted your time, writing about the (typically) stupid behavior of one of our highly paid athletes�..


Got an email today, informing me that I will now have to caught up $9.95 per year to get my daily dose of comics in my morning email.

This has been a free service for several years now. I only have a few strips sent to my email account. These are either comics that once ran in the Chicago Trib but were dropped, or ones that I found to be funny and didn�t want to have to go to the writer�s web page to view each day.

Will I pay the $9.95?

Don�t know right now.

Getting them sent to me free was nice, but like most �free� things on the internet, it has come to an end.

I guess I will just have to bookmark the individual links, if I decide $10 bucks a year is too much to pay.

Then again, $10 a year ain�t too much to spend for a few laughs to start me day, is it? It might be worth it, just to start each day on a positive note��.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top