Today's music?

Marc Copely - "*Limited Lifetime Guarantee" - (2002 -RCA Records) ...hard-rocking singer/songwriter- think Pete Yorn...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Jul. 25, 2003 - 8:00 p.m.

Friday night, so I won�t keep you long�

I made it to the beach above the dam at BACE Lake last night.

I arrived there around 5:30 pm, well before the White Bass start schooling and attacking the baby shad.

Sounds violent, and it is. But I digress�.

I made two stoops on the way to the lake. I dropped by Whitey�s house, and gave him some puny cauliflower and cabbage plants for his fall garden. He didn�t mind their sad shape- he said he would do what he could to get them to harvest. Between the hot weather a few weeks ago, and some un-diagnosed bug�s damage, and my fall bedding plant starts are a little sad looking.

I put my share into the ground at work on Wednesday. They look no better, two days later.

Oh well. It�s always a potshot anyway, growing Cole crops in the summer for a fall harvest.

His wife made sure I left with a small loaf of her version of zucchini bread, too. I took it into work, where the remaining coworkers who remembered her baking thanked me for saving it for their enjoyment.

I also stopped by Emmett�s house, and picked a bucket full of sweet corn. I managed to find 20 ears of decent corn, but it took a little work.

He doesn�t understand why his � acre of sweet corn is so poor this year. Almost everyone else growing corn locally has had bumper crops of Peaches and Cream corn.

Emmett�s?

He has a bunch of short, insect and virus damaged plants no taller than my waist.

It might be time for him to let his field go fallow for a year. This area has held sweet corn for over a decade, and that is a recipe for disaster. You have to rotate your crops, or all of your pests start to build up in a small plot.

Maybe I can talk him into growing watermelons for a year?


I didn�t catch a single white bass until 8:15 pm. That is less than 30 minutes from sundown.

Why?

I don�t know for sure. The conditions were just right: a light breeze from the south, average temperatures after a week of sub-normal highs. The bluegills were violently attacking my small Rooster Tails spinner (white, with a black tail) for the time between 5:30 and the first White.

The only thing I can blame the slow action on is the White Trash Family From Hell ,who picked last night as their night to swim at the beach.

A family of 6 showed up at 7:30, about the time everyone else was leaving the beach. Nobody in the clan could speak at normal volume (I am guessing here-�Mom�, �Dad�, �daughter� around 17, �sons� 13 and 6)

Every sentence out of any of these genetic setback�s mouths was at full volume. The �Dad� seemed to have an unnatural attraction to the 17-year-old �daughter�(stepdaughter? I don�t know. Seemed like ripe-for-Jerry-Springer�s show material here, anyway you look at it) constantly tossing (and pawing) her into the water. Since they were so loud, I heard him, more than once, ask her, �Did I toss you high enough? How high did you get? You want me to make you get REAL HIGH?�

I was near the gagging-point.

They were also making far too much �body contact� for a normal father/daughter relationship (IMHO).

All the while, the �Mom� just sat in a lawn chair on the edge of the water, quietly watching this action.

Maybe you think I am over-emphasizing this man�s actions.

You wouldn�t think so. Not if you would have been there.

It was just plain creepy. If he isn�t doing illegal things to that girl, I would be very surprised.

Anyway�.

They picked my side of this huge beach to swim. And to make tons of noise.

They didn�t get out of the water until 8:10. Less than 5 minutes later, the White bass started their attack on the shad. I guess they were waiting on the White trash to leave, too.

I managed to land 22 fish until it became too dark to see (about 8:50). Not bad, but the fish weren�t as big and the action wasn�t as fast as Lease and I had on Saturday.

I guess I should be happy- I did catch a bunch of nice bluegill, waiting on the Whites (somewhere around 50, but I wasn�t keeping track). I did catch a few Largemouth bass, too, but all were smaller than 2 pounds each.

I guess the dialog between the White Trash father and daughter just put a damper on the whole evening�.


I�ll leave you with a photo:

Rudbeckia, variety �Rustic Mix�.

I try to grow these flowers every year, ever since I stumbled across them. The blooms are huge, much larger than the standard, wild variety of Black-eyed Susan. The colors range from mostly yellow, to this half/half red and yellow, all the way to nearly all brown/red.

As they used to say on The Victory Garden, �Let�s make it our plant of the week���.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top