Today's music?

Cheap Trick - "presents.... Special One" (2003 - Big 3 records) New stuff from Cheap Trick is always a good thing......



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Aug. 29, 2003 - 4:18 p.m.

The fires of Hell have been turned down�..plus- I almost forgot about the last grapes (again), and a �Rumination of the Day� worth repeating, over and over again�

The much-needed rains finally came this afternoon. The 1.4 inches we had in our rain gauge was the first measurable precipitation we have had since the Mohall Celebration, way back on August 3rd!

The temperature as I am typing his is only 73�, which is more than 20� cooler than any afternoon has been here in over a week. The highs for the next three days are not supposed to reach 80�. That should make for great patio sitting evenings. I would guess right now that we will have some company over on a couple of the nights.

Not tonight, though. One of Lease�s carpooling coworkers has decided to quit (down to 4 now- many more leave, and Lease will have to, also), and everyone who worked with her in Mohall are throwing her a party at the local billiards/ pub to celebrate her liberation from the evil corporate overlord that has consumed their company.

She worked for the various cable companies here in Mohall for over 22 years. She wanted to keep her job, but decided the severance pay was enough to convince her that she didn�t want to drive 35 miles each way every day to stay.

If the idiots who are in management over in Springpatch don�t lay off of the other 4, they will probably follow her out the door.

The sad thing is, that is most likely what they want��


--==++ Rumination of the Day ++==--

Saying something over and over again doesn't make it true -- unless, of course, you're saying, "I'm obnoxious and repetitive."

(kremben)

Yeah, that sounds about right....


The dry and hot weather has taken its toll on both of my gardens. The summer squash plants have almost all succumbed to the heat, leaving only the new variety, �Papaya Pear�, still churning out plenty of fruit. Many of my tomato plants are showing damage caused by the wilts and fungus that seem to thrive in hot, dry weather.

On the other hand, my peppers loved the heat. I have a ton of second crop fruit hanging on my plants, and I have picked a bunch of red ripe sweet peppers in the past 7 days.

One thing I had completely forgotten about was my seeded Catawba grapes. After picking about one half of the crop earlier this month (used to make jam and some juice with), I decided to leave the rest on the vine for a few days. That way, they would build up more sugar, making them better for making more juice.

And then, just like last year, I almost forgot to harvest them.

Since I have been watering my garden regularly, the grapes had continued to swell up with sweet juice. Every year this vine is in the ground (summer #4 now), the fruit continues to grow larger. They now are nearly as big as grocery store Red Flames.

Not bad, when you consider that the first crop produced pea-to-marble sized green grapes.

They are now on the stove, simmering in the large stockpot. I decided to do this job tonight, instead of tackling the leftover tomatoes from yesterday.

It�s a 3 day weekend here, so I should have time to do something with them in the next few days�..


I hope y�all also get the long weekend, and enjoy time with friends and family too��.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top