Today's music?

Jane's Addiction- "Strays" (2003- Capitol Records) Dave Navarro playing guitar- good enough reason to buy this one....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Oct. 20, 2003 - 8:45 p.m.

Last day of long weekend�spent doing boring garden and home maintenance tasks (so I post a couple more photos, to make up for the boring subject matter)

Yeah, we each burned one more vacation day today (Lease and I, that is).

This is the second time this year that we took a Monday off after taking a trip out fo town. We have both worked at our respective jobs for long enough to earn a decent amount of vacation time. By taking the Monday after traveling, we can get our usual weekend jobs done on Sunday, and then do whatever we want on Monday. Ease into the workweek, which is now only 4 days long, too.

Win-win, in my opinion.

Anyway�.today was extremely warm for late October (mid-80�s, with a strong southwest wind). Since the ground was somewhat dry in the garden, and since many people decided to rake their yards yesterday, I figured it was a good time to haul their leaves to my house.

I brought two full loads to the alley, unloading one for spreading in the beds and the second for next year�s mulch.

One problem on my first load, though: I tried to haul two layers of bagged leaves in to the bed of my truck. Getting them in there wasn�t the problem: hauling them the two blocks to my alley was.

As I turned the corner one block from home, a strong gust of wind hit my truck at just the wrong time. Almost all of the bags on the second tier shifted, and several of these hit the road, spilling part of their contents onto the pavement and rolling the bags to the gutter.

Yes, I should have stopped right there and picked them up. But I was less than a block from home, it was the middle of the day, and I figured they would just blow out once again.

So I drove home, quickly unloaded the remaining bags, and headed back to the scene of the crime.

The bags (7 in all) were no longer in the road. Someone had gathered each bag up, placing them neatly onto the median for the compost collector to haul away on Wednesday.

Now, to put this into perspective: I was away for maybe 3 minutes, tops. During the middle of a weekday, there is almost no traffic on our streets. I know, from being home resting for a snowstorm or doing jobs around my house while on vacation.

I guess whomever decided to clean the (small) mess up didn�t figure I would return.

Could it be the Hillbilly truck gives folks the wrong impression?

I threw these bags into my truck, picked up a few more on that block, and finished my home garden�s gathering for the year. I also filled my truck (tightly, and in one layer) one more time before I quit. This will be unloaded at work tomorrow for my work garden. A couple more pickups full, and that garden will be set for the winter.


I tilled these leaves into the soil late in the afternoon. I also planted several packages of spring bulbs. These are for cut flowers for Lease. I put them in several spots in the garden, knowing that I will plant something else right next to the bulbs when planting time rolls around next year. The bulbs will provide Lease with some blooms for the house, and will then be sacrificed for the good of the vegetable plants�.


I did several other boring jobs to fill out my exciting day I washed the Grand Am, and I took apart and cleaned our pedestal fans. They were overdue to the removal of built-up dirt, so I did this job outside. I hosed off the plastic guards and fan blade, and then I took apart the housing to get to the motor. This area gets caked with animal hair and other detritus, and can cause the motor to overheat.

I have been using canned compressed air for this job for a couple of years now. It blasts away any dust from the coiled copper without any effort.

Just a household tip from me, in case you hadn�t thought of it before now�..


I�ll leave you with a couple of photos from Buzzardfest:

The first shot shows you that they are not kidding about the return of the Turkey Buzzards to Makanda Illinois. There were at times as many as 30 of these large birds, circling overhead. I don�t know what they feed on in such large numbers (overheard while walking between two craft booths, coming from a late teenaged girl, �What do they do to get the buzzards to come? Throw a dead body out in the field or something?�no kiddin�)

Beings that there were so many of these creatures hanging around, I had to bring one home for myself. I figure it will do a decent job of discouraging the tree rats from my peach trees next summer:

It is made out of old farm equipment and a shovel blade, and weighs about 20 pounds. I nearly decapitated one small boy who walked into it from my backside. He wasn�t looking where he was going, and I was concentrating on not bonking someone headed towards me at the time.

He survived without any blood loss, so it�s all good���

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top