Today's music?

Dwight Ritcher Band - "Drive Around Town" (2002- self-released) ...new, but sounds like right out of the early 70's R&B



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Nov. 17, 2003 - 8:12 p.m.

My life as a (criminal) cat��..(plus- a little news from the workplace)

It all started out so innocently: at first, my owner didn�t even let me near that leafy green stuff that she let the �older� cats play with. She told me it was only for grow-ups, not for a little guy like me.

What they didn�t know was how easy it would me to find my own source for this intoxicating out on the streets. If you have the scratch, you can score some primo leaf in any back alley downtown.

The next thing I knew, I was hooked. All I could think about was getting my next fix, no matter the effect on my body or mind. The feeling it gave me was just to great- a high like that is hard to give up once you find it.

Of course, this story has to take a turn for the worse. All drug addition stories do, don�t they?(at least all of the ones that the Homeland Security Department lets out end up poorly)

I got to the point where I had to start knocking off convenience stores, just to have enough cash to feed my Jones. I got pretty good at it, too- in and out before anyone noticed that I had stripped the cash drawer of its contents.

And then, one day I finally hit rock bottom.

I was about to make another quiet exit (this time through the bathroom window), when the owner of the store burst into the stall and cornered me:

Goddamn that primo Jamaican catnip! I let it take me down to the lowest levels of kitten society.

Now, I have to spend a little time behind bars (they have me inside one of those airline carriers in the back of the wardens office, as I type this warning �tail� to other young �cats� who might also fall prey to this sad lifestyle)

The worst part of what catnip did to my life? I only have 3 lives left.

I can�t remember where I lost all of the other 6 lives (I am a little hazy about a few of those nights), but I plan on doing my best to take care of the few I still have left.

No more demon castnip weed for me���..


Back to �reality� (aka working for the NDDOT):

They finally posted the lead worker�s position at our Mohall storage today.

�Bout time, too: it has been almost a year without having even one fulltime leadworker (MOM), and over 4 years since we had a full-time #2 boss.

The posting has a few rules attached to it that I had never seen before. I think they were added after the lawsuits started falling like rain on the soft heads of the new administration�s personnel people. Nobody can apply for the job unless they are presently employed in our facility. And they have to be certified (6-month probation over).

That would eliminate the hiring of outside people (re: campaign workers from last fall�s election) off of the street and making them leadworkers (and thus giving them the highest paying job in our union, instead of the 80% that everyone else gets hired in at nowadays).

What it doesn�t eliminate is the administration�s ability to transfer one of their pals from the big city into our yard in the next 14 days, and as long as they have their 6 months in (as all of his recent �appointments� surely have), making them our new bosses.

I don�t think they will do that, though. It seems to take lawsuits to wake up these �suits�. Since they have a shitload of them to defend as it is, they probably won�t push their luck too much in this area.

But I could be wrong.

If so, I pity the person they try to sneak that way into our storage. Their life would be a living hell, and rightly so��


I spent almost the entire day trying to help the temporary lead workers straighten out problems they had on our antique MS-DOS operating system on the computer.

Sounds like simple stuff, but it was not that easy to fix. Nothing is simple with this old program. The main problem was a few new snowbirds being improperly added to the table for employees. I just couldn�t get the program to delete the mistakes. I would follow the steps, click on delete, and the computer would say �Line whatever is now deleted�.

Close and open the program again, and they would be right back there.

I finally figured it out how to get rid of them, but if you asked me what I did to get them removed I couldn�t tell you for sure right now.

Better to be lucky than smart, when playing around with something you aren�t properly trained to do��


I can promise you one thing: if we do get some political hack inserted into the leadworker�s position here in Mohall, you can bet your bottom dollar that I will suddenly forget EVERYTHING I knew about this old operating system, aside from what I need to know to do my job��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top