Today's music?

Tom Grant - "Mango Tango" (1988- GAIA records)...no, not a Ted Nugent knock-off...it's mellow jazz



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Nov. 18, 2003 - 6:23 p.m.

Strange days indeed�.Plus- round two of the tree rat battle�

Beavis finally got around to printing up a bunch of the necessary forms for applying to be Mohall�snew lead-lead-worker.

The 4 men who have served as our temporary leads for the last 15+ months all picked up their copies. That was to be expected.

One of the guys hired in the last 12 months had been the subject of rumors about this position for a little while now. He had filled out the forms to be a temp about a month ago after passing the lead workers test.

The test is a joke, btw- you have to be certified (out of your 6 months of probation), and have to have at least 2 years of highway maintainer or the equivalency in some other road related field to pass the test. Oh yeah, and you can�t have major disciplinary actions or outstanding felony warrants against you , too.

That�s it.

Since he had been a laborer out of the union laborer hall back in the early 1970�s, he fits the meager qualifications.

That, and the fact that his wife is a big-time operative for the new governor�s political party means he has a pretty good shot at walking into the high-paying position. That will give him a 27% pay increase, and make him the highest paid employee in the yard.

Is he the right man for the job?

I seriously doubt it. He comes across to me as a contrairian, always taking the opposite position on any issue just to get you riled up. He doesn�t bother me, because I can see right through him.

Put him in a management roll with that attitude, and there will be a slew of grievances in the future.

There were also a couple of other guys who took the paperwork who nobody thought would apply.

One is a 25-year veteran of the job, knows all of the equipment and jobs backwards and forwards, and tends to be evenhanded and fair with how he treats his fellow workers.

He is also a member of the wrong political party.

He would be the best person for the job, by far.

In other words, he probably doesn�t stand a chance in Hell of getting the job over the lazy contrairian from the �right� political party.

I�m glad he applied. At least he will have grounds to file a lawsuit when the 9 month employee gets put in power.


I saved the best for last:

Remember this guy?

The one who was properly fired for being totally incompetent?

Only to slip back into the job because they mixed his firing up with the politically motivated dismissals back in September?

He also filled out the paperwork to be the lead-lead worker for Mohall storage.

That�s right- fired one month, thinks he is good enough to run the place the next.

Either he has the most enormous pair of gonads in the city of Mohall, or he really is a very stoopid individual.


Wait a second: I just remembered something.

He told me once a while back that his wife is a bailiff for one of our county judges.

The judge is a member of the governor�s political party, too.

Maybe we will end up with 2 very short-time employees in charge of the place after all.

Things could either get very dangerous or very comical in a hurry�..


I started feeding the birds again this weekend. It�s cold enough now, and the sources of wild bird seed should be starting to dwindle for the local feathered friends.

I also decided to get the Havahart� out of the garage. This will be step 2 of �remove all of the local tree rats from my neighborhood�.

I didn�t have any peanut butter to bait the trap Sunday, so I stuck a glob of margarine on a old corn cob instead. I sprinkled a few walnut pieces on that, and set the trap.

When I came home form work yesterday, I had one very wet (it rained all day, as it has for 6 of the last 7 days here) and angry tree rat inside of the trap.

I released him at the same distant church that I released the other captured squirrels at last summer. Might as well try to reunite them with their family members, right?

(If you are new to this �journal�, you might want to click on this link and read why my peach trees and I have to battle the local squirrels )

I didn�t bait the trap today (heavy rain and margarine don�t mix).

No rain in the forecast tomorrow.

The trap will be re-baited when I leave for work in the morning.

Wish me luck�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top