Today's music?

Get Set Go - "So You've Ruined Your Life..." (2003 - TSR records) lyrics-"I love your vagina, and the taste of your lips



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Dec. 11, 2003 - 9:02 p.m.

A Christmas program at a catholic church, and I was there? Well, yeah- family, the Pope and all�..

The evening (about an hour of it, anyway) was spent at one of the local catholic (should that be capitalized? I don�t know) churches, watching our niece Shelby and nephew Glen perform in that time honored tradition, the Christmas program.

First one of these I have sat through in some time. Codeman had �Holiday� programs in grade and junior high school, but that�s been a while back. And all they could sing at those was stuff like jingle Bells and Frosty the Snowman.

Not so at a catholic church. All-religious songs, all the time.

I will give the church credit for this much- they didn�t mess around with the artwork back when they built this building. I think it was constructed in the 1920�s. The bias relief and statuary inside of this building is unbelievable. I have been inside of the church a few times in the past, mainly to take photographs for weddings. The stained glass is top grade, but can�t be photographed at night.

Not so the interior:

Not that I am condoning the expenditure of the tithings from hard-working parishioners on artwork, rather than relief for the poor and downtrodden, but I thought it was pretty�.


Parents and family were snapping off flash photos as fast as they could hit their shutter buttons, but I didn�t bother. If you are more than 15 feet from the stage (that would be about 98% of those in attendance), all your flash did was blind the children and over-expose the heads of the folks sitting in the pew in front of you.

I set the camera for incandescent lighting, and then boosted the exposure by +0.3. This works well enough, if you don�t mind deleting about 3 of every 4 shots due to blurring. I held the camera on top of the end cap of the pew we sat in (forgot the tripod, again), and held the camera as steady as I could.

That didn�t stop the children from moving, of course. I just did a quick slide show of the photos, and decided that these are probably the best facial expressions and non-blurry shots of the bunch.

First, Shelby. She is the longhaired young lady on the right, wearing the long black dress:

And this is Glen, far right in gray:

Trust me- they were having more fun than they appear to be in these photos. Since they were singing, I have a bunch of photos with mouths open, odd expressions on their young faces.


Of course, since this was a catholic (Catholic?) church, the Pope stopped by to watch the program:

Yeah, I know- that photo was from last summer�s Mohall Celebration.

Naturally, he was too busy to pose for us tonight, congratulating the children��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top