Today's music?

Ryan Adams - "Rock and Roll (reversed)" - (2003- Lost Highway records) actual 'rock' from this alt. country guy....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Jan. 03, 2004 - 10:07 p.m.

This is the part I hate the most�.

The waiting for the phone to ring. Waiting for the temperature to drop just a few more degrees, turning this steady rainfall into (what is forecasted to be) sleet, freezing rain, and then snow over the next 24 hours or so.

All of the forecasts I can find say this will turn to a frozen mess sometime after midnight tonight. That means I will get oh, about 15 minutes of sleep once I turn off the lamp on the nightstand. It doesn�t matter if I post this entry and head right to bed, or if I stay up well past midnight reading. The call won�t come until I try to capture a few minutes of sleep.

Guaranteed�.


I woke up this morning at 7:30. I couldn�t fall back to sleep, so I made some toast and drinks, and brought them upstairs for Lease. The thermometer on the weather bug read 41�. It has taken all day, but it has slowly slipped downward to where it now reads 35�. Just a few degrees from the magic number when things turn to a frozen mess.

I read the forecast at 7:30 this morning, and I knew that it would rain on and off all day. But I didn�t want to pass up what might be my last chance to catch a few fish before the Arctic cold envelopes us. I picked up a carton of wax worms, and I headed to the Nuclear Power Plant Lake to the north.

The last time I went there, I had the shoreline almost completely to myself. That was the last weekend of shotgun season for the local deer hunters. Many of the people who fish were out sitting in a tree stand, waiting on a passing buck.

Today, the conditions were much worse but the shoreline was packed. The ethnic makeup of the various fishermen could best be described as Pat Buchanan�s worst nightmare- at least 75% of the anglers weren�t speaking English when talking to each other. They were about equally divided between Hispanic (Mexican, I would guess) and Southeast Asian (a bunch of Vietnamese relocated here in the late 70�s). Both of these groups were keeping most of the Bluegills that they caught, along with anything else they landed.

Hungry, I guess.

I didn�t even take a bucket with me today. That was probably a good idea, because I would have been hard pressed to cull together enough keeper Bluegill to make getting out the filet knife worthwhile. Even though I caught between 50-75 Bluegills during the hour and a half that I stood in the rain, I only caught 10-15 that were large enough to keep. Add to that the fact that I caught absolutely no crappie or white bass, and the action was pretty bad.

This happens every year at this bridge. By January, almost all of the bigger Bluegill have been caught and kept by the mass of fishermen hitting this bridge. They don�t grow that quickly, so all that is left is smaller bait stealers. I stopped baiting my jigs and still caught plenty of small fish.

Oh well- maybe after this cold snap a few more decent fish will move into the shoreline.

If not, it�s still nice to be able to catch a few fish in the middle of winter ,ven if they aren�t keepers���

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top