Today's music?

Campfire Girls - "Tell Them Hi" (2003 - Interscope Records) another great powerpop album overlooked by the record buying publi



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Jan. 04, 2004 - 6:15 p.m.

So much for that winter storm�..plus-something to offend most everyone in today�s loooonnnngggg entry�

�The call� never came last night.

Neither did any precipitation of the frozen variety.

It rained all night, and into the middle of this afternoon. But the coldest it ever became was 32�. That is cold enough for freezing rain and snow, but the ground temperature must have been too high for anything to happen.

We might have set a record for precipitation for this day of the month. I think the weather guy said the record was 1.25 inches, and the last time I looked (at the local weather station on the digital cable channel), the rain gauge was reading 1.30 of rain since midnight. That�s a lot of rain for any time of the year, but especially for January. With the ground already saturated. And the streams to the tops of their banks before the rain started.

Which means we will probably have some flooding in the next day or so.

Could this entry be any more boring?


I slept in somewhat this morning. Lease took the dogs out at daybreak, and didn�t wake me up until she was almost finished cooking breakfast (about 8:30 am).

She decided I needed to sleep in, after the night of tossing and turning I put in .

It doesn�t matter how many years I do this job, I still can�t sleep when I expect a call out. When I went to bed, the last forecast I read said �A 100% chance of freezing rain, becoming mixed with sleet and snow towards morning.�

I�m a sucker for a �100%� chance of anything. I figure 100% means, of, I don�t know- that IT WILL HAPPEN!

Isn�t that what 100% means? Not even a 99% chance- 100 times out of a 100 it will happen.

Sucker!

Right now, the radar screen is clear as far as you can see to the west. It is now 31�, so if anything develops now it will freeze.

I would say that there is a 100% chance that it will either snow or it will not snow tonight.

I am pretty sure of that forecast�


The NFL football playoff games were (for the most part) pretty interesting this weekend. The three teams from the Midwest won, which made me smile (sorry Zackal , about the Cowboys. Bingoguy-your Seahawks. And Sixweasels, sorry about your Ravens, too).

The Packers/Seahawks game was a classic. Several lead changes, a 27-27 tie at the end of regulation, and then after each team had the ball a couple of times in the first overtime period, a cornerback for the Packers intercepted the ball thrown by the Seahawks quarterback and returned it all the way for the game-ending touchdown.

With the Bears long gone for the season, I want to see the Packers do well. Brett Favre had another great game, hitting his receives with long-distance passes all game long.

But if I have to hear one more time about how his (recently deceased) father is smiling down on him, or worse yet, is having something to do with their winning these games, I will have to puke.

Sportscasters always want to have a �hook� to use during a game. It is very sad that his dad died , but do they have to try to connect his death with the team�s good play?

If there was a player on the Seahawks who�s dad had also died recently (don�t know, but it is possible, right?), would they say that this player�s dad wanted his son�s team to loose today?

Makes as much sense, doesn�t it? It�s like when the guy who scores the winning touchdown says something like , �God put me here ,in this spot, to win the game today. It was His will that we won !�.

That, and he wanted the players on the other team to loose, right? Must not have as many believers on the loosing squad- God keeps track of those things, so He can decide who gets to win and who gets to loose��


Please address all complaints about the contents of the last paragraph to bite_me@get_a_sense_of_humor.com��


If you are still reading this, thank you for putting up with this crap.

Long, winding road today�

Oh yeah- I forgot something that happened yesterday. I meant to tell you about this when I posted my last entry, but forgot all about it.

One of our stops was at the local Menards (a home improvement center that used to have the obnoxious old pitch man on their commercials, if you don�t have one of these super-sized stores in your neck of the woods). They always have a sale at the start of a new year that goes like this:

You buy a Rubbermaid� 18 quart sized storage/tote container for some ridiculously low price (I think it was less than $3), and then anything you can stuff into it can be purchased for the new year�s percentage off (in other words, 20.04% this year).

We always hit this special event to buy things that never go on sale, along with anything else that we might need at the time and that will fit inside of a 18 quart tub. Even items already on sale get the extra 20.04% off.

This time I bought rechargeable batteries, a tarp to cover our patio furniture set, and some of those small, fluorescent replacement light bulbs, among other hardware-related things.I usually buy cheap garden seeds, but they didn't have them out yet yesterday.

That is not why I wanted to write about our trip there.

No, it was something that happened while we were shopping.

On a Saturday afternoon, in the busy afternoon portion of the day, and with the store so full there weren�t any shopping carts to be had when you entered the store, the power suddenly went off.

Instantly pitch dark.

It took at least a minute before the emergency lights kicked on. For that minute, you couldn�t see your hand in front of your face. People were calling out to each other, trying to find a spouse or significant other who had wandered to another section of the store.

Lease and I were walking together, me pushing the shopping cart with her holding my left arm beside me when the lights went out. When it went dark, she gripped my arm tightly, if only for a second. The shock of sudden darkness caused her to grab me for support.

I kinda liked that.

What did I do the moment it went dark?

Besides pulling Lease closer to me, I acted sophomorically. I let out a Homer Simpson �Woo Hoo!�

Oh yeah, one more thing:

The first thing that she said?

�Watch you wallet�.

Always thinking, she is�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top