Today's music?

Ryan Adams - "Rock and Roll (reversed)" - (2003- Lost Highway records) actual 'rock' from this alt. country guy....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Jan. 16, 2004 - 7:25 p.m.

For some reason, this made me fell a little sick to my stomach�.

I was looking for something to make for a side dish with dinner yesterday evening (dinner was pesto chicken and shrimp with red bell peppers and onions, over thin spaghetti for those keeping score). I wanted a green vegetable to go along with the pasta, and to add a little color to the plates, too.

To my surprise, in the bottom of the produce drawer I found a bag with enough (still good) purple Brussels sprouts to feed both Codeman and myself (Lease didn�t want any). I had to throw a few away that had gone a little South, but for the most part they were still edible.

Somehow, while rinsing and trimming these colorful buds, I unknowingly dropped one on the floor. Since I was caught up with food prep, it sat there for some time.

I cooked the Brussels sprouts in a mixture of butter, garlic, salt, and cayenne powder. They turned out quite good, considering their age.

But before I finished cooking the rest of dinner, I noticed something a little twisted. The one dropped bud was now being eaten by��. (you have to know where I am going here, don�t you?)

Sprout.

Yes, our handy pocket sized-dog was eating one of his �own�.

One sprout, eating another.

I�m telling ya, that�s sick,!

Sick!


I took it away from him, of course.

You know how they say once a dog gets a taste of human blood; he wants it over and over again?

I don�t want the old guy to end up a �cannibal�, this late in his life�.


Freezing rain has been in our forecast, on and off all day. One forecast said a low of 32� with glazing in the north part of our county. Three hours later? A low of 35�, with the freezing rain two full counties to our north.

The low tonight is now only supposed to get down to 34�. Not quite freezing, but close enough to make it possible that I will have to work anyway.

And I am stuck at the top of the call-out list. Number one, out of 14 guys.

The partial crew that worked all Sunday night 12 days ago gained 14 hours of overtime on me. It will take a bunch of small callouts for me to ever move down the list this winter.

Not that I plan on sitting around, waiting on the phone to ring. Since they changed the rules a few years back, you don�t have to be available for a non-weather callout, or even a partial callout, if enough people below you are willing to come in.

I would rather have the time off than the money. With all of the newer employees we now have, there are plenty of takers for the overtime.

They are welcome to my callouts, if it isn�t a weather-related, full shift is needed type of event����

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top