Today's music?

Ugly Americans - "Sterophonic Spanish Fly" (1996 - Capricorn Records) Southern "jam" band, good laid-back album....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Feb. 27, 2004 - 7:12 p.m.

A quick work-related update, and more photos of ducks�

Two quick updates, actually�

Yesterday evening, as we were getting ready to go home, Doughnut (or field area engineer) called all 7 of the men who interviewed for lead worker into the office.

Closed-door meeting.

That could only mean one thing- they finally decided on the new Mohall #1 position, right?

Wrong.

The folks at London had been informed that the position in Mohall was not going to be filled at this time. No explanation given, just not now.

Oh, and whenever they decided to fill the position? Everyone would have to be interviewed all over again.

This, my friends, is political bullshit at its finest.

In other words- either they couldn�t agree on which member of Governor Little big Man�s party gets the job (two of the seven are from his ilk), or they are holding out to fill the job with a hand-picked person who doesn�t work at our storage at this time (since the job requires that it be filled by a presently employed at or yard person).


But wait!

Somebody must have talked to somebody else important, because�..

Doughnut called the storage (before I left early today to waste 2 hours of P.B. fishing in Lake Mohall, and not getting a bite, but that is another story I won�t bore you with right now) to say that we should ignore what was said yesterday.

All of the interviews still count, and a decision should be made in a matter of days.

Don�t you just love backroom politics? This is the sleazy way they run things in Bismarck. Since Little Big Man is from there, he is trying to spread the slime over state government, too.

Just wait- I will go to work on Monday, and there will probably some new guy from Bismarck there, announcing that HE is the new Mohall #1.

It wouldn�t surprise me one bit�


Item #2:

I had to drive a truck out to a job site yesterday to pick up an employee who was leaving at 2 pm. I used one of the field office person�s pick up truck, instead of a 3-ton truck.

I tried to call the temporary Mohall #1 , to tell him I had the guy and that he wouldn�t have to drive out to pick him up. I didn�t get an answer, so I put the microphone onto its rest stand and started driving down the road.

The guy I picked up told me about a argument that the temporary #2 had with another guy on his crew (also a temporary lead worker-just not this month). He said they were acting like idiots, yelling into each other�s faces, and calling each other four-letter word names.

I told him that temp. #2 was a moron for doing this, because he goes back on the road March 1, and the guy he was fucking with (my words) would be the temporary #1 again. This would mean he would be able to make his life a living Hell if he felt like it, and�

THE ALARM TONE WENT OFF ON THE TRUCK'S TWO-WAY RADIO, WARNING US THAT THE MICROPHONE HAD BEEN OPEN AND TRANSMITTING FOR OVER ONE FULL MINUTE!

Yes, that means anyone near a radio could hear our last 60 seconds of conversation, cuss words, opinions, and all.

Turns out only a small part of what we said was understandable, and someone in the yard had hit the key on the base station mic once he realized what we were saying was being transmitted over the state�s airwaves.

Why was the radio transmitting? Because the mic�s key had slipped up against the side of the truck�s drink holder, opening it up for transmission.

Did we say anything that could get us in trouble with the folks in London?

Not likely. They could reprimand us for cursing over the airwaves, but we didn�t say anything libelous or prosecutable.

Opinions about a coworker being an asshole might be protected speech, anyway�.


So, more of the waterfowl photos?

O.k., here they are.

If you didn�t see the one I posted earlier today, here it is again (I just like the mirror effect that the setting sun created on the water):

Here is the clearest shot of the migrating ducks, located a good 125 yards or so from the shoreline:

Since I was using the equivalency of a 40x zoom (or a 2350mm lens, if you can imagine that), all of the photos of the Redhead ducks are slightly out of focus. It could be because I used the digital zoom, too. I don�t know- I just wanted to show you what these ducks look like (since they only hang around here for a few days each spring and fall).

I was able to get much closer to the common Mallard ducks resting along the shoreline. I still stayed about 50 feet back, so I could observe their behavior without spooking them:

And this shot is of a happy couple, resting on one of the boat docks. The colors are not over saturated or changed in any way- they really were this colorful in the late afternoon sun:

One more shot of a Coot. He was trying to figure out what I was doing, and kept turning and looking at me. In this frame, I caught that look:

This long, photo-packed entry should be enough to make up for my �skipped entry� days this week, don�t you think?

Sorry of all of these photos slowed your browser down too much�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top