Today's music?

M.F. McAdam - "Boy Wonder" (2002- Superhead Records) Formerly of Sumak, another great band you have never heard of- great musi



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Saturday, Mar. 06, 2004 - 8:42 p.m.

This news might be somewhat surprising to y�all�maybe I am just becoming �Delirious�?

Like I said a while back- I haven�t been to any indoors, for-real concerts in a long time.

Once my pal Zackal informed me about the upcoming Cheap Trick/ Aerosmith concert, that streak came to an end. It pains me to pay what concerts cost nowadays (especially when I think back to seeing bands like Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers and Van Halen for around $10- yes, I am that old), but to see two bands that have meant so much to me musically through the years? Not that big a deal.

Codeman is going to the concert with me, but Lease has a prior commitment, family-wise, and decided she didn�t want to break it for the show. No problem. I was sure something else would come along that we could attend together in the future.

I just didn�t realize how soon �the future� would be.

We were watching the boob tube on Wednesday when we heard a story about an upcoming �final tour� from a musician I didn�t think even toured anymore. The artist involved is on of Lease�s favorite�s, ever, and he has never played anywhere near us here in North Dakota.

But he just started what he was calling his final concert tour playing his many hits from the past 25 years. He wants to �open room for future songs�, so he won�t be playing these songs much any more in the future.

Lease looked at me with the smile she knows melts my heart, and said, �I would really like to see him perform, if you can get tickets for one of these shows�.

Considering I list one of his early albums on my top ten albums of my collection list, I didn�t have to be convinced to try for a couple of seats for whatever show was nearest to Mohall.

I went to Ticketmaster to see where the closest venue would be. Turns out- not too close. Champaign, Illinois, as a matter of fact.

Pretty bad when we have to travel that far just to see a show. But not much happens here in Mohall, unless you consider the annual �Mohall Celebration� each August.

So I checked to see when the tickets would be on sale. Turns out, the show would be on sale today, starting at 10 am.

(A quick aside about the evil corporation that is Ticketmaster- they may charge an ridiculous amount for their �service charge�, but let me say this much: buying tickets for a concert that is 1055 miles away is MUCH EASIER using this system. I sure didn�t feel like driving all the way to Champaign to stand in line to by our tickets. I would have burned more gas money that the service charges anyway. Aside from that? Yeah, they are an evil cabal, controlling the concert business just like Clear Channel controls the radio airwaves. But that is another story for another day�.)

So I had the ticket purchasing web page loaded up about 5 minuets before the tickets on sale. I kept hitting the �refresh� button until the page�s order tickets here� box appeared at 10 am. I clicked on 2 tickets, best available, and waited.

After clearing the various hoops Ticketmaster made me jump through, I came to a page that listed what I could buy for �best available�:

Lower box seats, 3 rows up, right in front of the stage on the east side of the �in the round� setup.

Did I want these seats, I was asked?

HELL YES!

My Visa balance is a little higher than I would like, but we will be sitting very close to the stage at a concert we never thought we would see.

And with as small as this man is, we really need to be close just to see him

Yes, Lease and I will be seeing the Artist who was once known by a weird symbol, but is now back to calling himselfPrince

Next month, even before I get to see the other big concert in May.

Now, if they can just convince Steely Dan to play at this year�s Mohall Celebration, my year will be complete�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top