Today's music?

Grand Drive - "Grand Drive" (2003 - BMG Music) Country-fied rock from Englishmen? Yeah, they sound kinda like Wilco



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Mar. 11, 2004 - 7:38 p.m.

Sharpening chainsaw chains causes flashbacks of the WORST JOB I HAD!�.plus- Nothin� like eating so much good food you end up suffering for it�

I finally bought the files and guides I needed to sharpen our chainsaws at work today at the local Lowe�s� home center. Picked up everything I needed for around $25. That is what the local small engine shop was charging us for the half-assed sharpening of 5 of our dull chains. The guys have complained that the work the shop was doing wasn�t that good, too. Some of the chains would become dull after only a short amount of use. Not from hitting dirt or rocks- just not sharpened properly.

I was trying to put an edge on our chains with a Dremmel� power tool and bits made for that purpose, but just wasn�t getting the job done right.

So I went back to the training I received at THE WORST JOB I EVER HAD! This was back in-between my junior and senior years of high school at a Rent-All shop long out of business here in Mohall. The owner was a surly drunk who put away a fifth or more of cheap whiskey by lunchtime, every day. The garbage can out back sounded like a glass factory falling apart by pick-up day each week.

My main job there was sharpening chainsaw chains by hand (the only way to do it, back in 1978). He would stand back, wavering on his drunken legs, and then co0me up behind me, grab my arms and yell in my ears, �No, you idiot! Your still doing it wrong! � Then with the stink of his stale cigarette and whiskey breath on my neck, he would push my hands over the chain the way HE said it should be done. This was remarkably similar, if not the exact same way that I was doing it before he blew up.

The job lasted all of 4 weeks, in the hottest days of summer. I gave him my notice after putting up with his garbage for 4 weeks, and he told me I didn�t have to work another day if I didn�t want to.

I didn�t.

The old drunk died back in the early 80�s. I read his obit in the paper, and was somewhat surprised to see that he was only 53.

All those years of hard drinking made him look closer to 70 when I was under his tyrannical thumb those 20 workdays back in 1978�..


WARNING! DISCUSSIONS OF OVEREATING BELOW! DON�T READ THIS IF YOU ARE PRESENTLY HUNGRY!

You have been warned�.

All I can say is I�m glad I went the extra 10 minutes on the treadmill tonight. I must have known I would soon be eating far too much great food for dinner.

Since the last time we ate out (Thursday night is becoming our one meal out a week night lately), we went to the Mongolian buffet I like so much. So this week, it was Leases turn to pick where we would go.

She really didn�t care, as long as it didn�t require a long drive to get to the food.

Rather than just settling for a bucket of KFC or some other type of fast food, I suggested the local restaurant run by the former head chef of our long-departed downtown luxury hotel. This man was classically trained as a chef back in the 1950�s (even spent time in Paris learning pastries- unheard of for a African American in that day), and continues to cook some of the very best food available for miles around.

Problem is, his restaurant is located in a pretty rundown part of town, and isn�t that close to our home. It�s not like it�s more than 15 minutes away- it�s just that we forget about it since we don�t live right next to it anymore.

He has started serving his specialties in a buffet setup again, which is both a good thing and a bad thing.

Good, because you can sample a little of this and a little of that, and have a variety of fine foods.

Bad, because I always seem to eat way more than I should when his food is presented to me this way.

That, and the fact that he always stops by your table a couple of times, making sure �You don�t go hungry now, you hear me?� as he always says to everyone.

That wasn�t a problem tonight.

After a small salad, I ate two plates of his main course. They were:

Bar-b-queue ribs, falling off of the bone tender.

Fried chicken, better than anything the Colonel ever whipped up in his kitchen.

Roast beef, carved from the bone.

Roasted new potatoes in his special cheese sauce.

Saut�ed baby carrots in a sweet cinnamon glaze.

Oh yeah, and all made-from-scratch deserts. By this time, you are too full to eat much more, so he pre-cuts them and wraps them on individual plates.

Hungry yet?

You ever find yourself in the Mohall North Dakota area send me an email.

I�ll give you the directions to this great eatery. That, or we�ll meet you there for dinner�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top