Today's music?

Dramarama - "Vinyl" (1991- Chameleon records) somehow, I missed this great band back when they came out.....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Mar. 22, 2004 - 8:18 p.m.

A short outing to the tail waters of Lake Mohall worth writing about�.plus- a link to a website that had me laughing out loud�.

The weather was just about perfect for an early spring fishing outing today. The sky was clear, the winds were slack, and 4 days of rain are in our forecast, starting tomorrow.

I didn�t want to blow another chunk of vacation time just yet, so I decided to just take my chances fishing the creek that feeds Lake Mohall, just minutes from our house, after work tonight.

I called Lease and told her what I was thinking, and she told me I should go. We had several dinners planned this week that required minimal cooking, and since it gets dark around 6 pm, she would get home about 30 minutes before me if I stayed that long. She had dinner prepped and lunches made when I walked in the door, saving me a couple of my nightly tasks.

Cool.

I only stopped at the house long enough to grab my gear and headed back out. Codeman said he wanted to go with me, but he has a 4-page report due at college tomorrow.

Maybe next time.

I was at the edge of the small bridge, casting my first offering to the bluegills and crappie, by 4:35. In the first hour there, I caught somewhere around 20 fish, mostly small bluegills. I had 6 keepers in the bucket when the bites came to a screeching halt. Since both bluegill and crappie move around a lot this time of year, I decided to move back into the stream, hoping to find where the fish were hiding.

One problem- the further back I moved, the more globs of floating brown (dead?) algae littered the surface of the water. The stuff was so think I couldn�t make a clean cast into the water. Every retrieve, I had to pull the slimy crap off my jigs. After a few minutes of this, I decided to head back to the bridge.

During the time I had moved, another fisherman had shown up. He was fishing about 100 feet from where I had caught my earlier fish. His arrival had spurred the Canadian geese in that part of the creek to move towards the bridge. I don�t know if this cause what happened to me next, but I have a feeling it might have caused the fish to move into the bridge in large numbers.

How many? Well, for the next 30 minutes or so, I couldn�t keep my line in the water without the bobber going under, the fish were feeding so aggressively.

I ran out of wax worms, and finished my time there fishing with tinsel jigs without bait. This didn�t even slow the action down. Only when the sun dropped far enough below the horizon that I couldn�t see my line anymore did I call it quits. In the last 30 minutes, I landed at least 60 more fish. A few were small crappie, but many were smaller bluegill. At least 30 of the bluegill were large enough to keep, and three of them were as large as I ever see in Lake Mohall. Old males, they had the typical �hump head� that gives them their nickname, �bulls�.

No, I didn�t keep anything. Once I started catching the fish fast and furious, I decided to just toss them all back. That way, I didn�t need to go home early enough to filet my catch.

Hey, there will be plenty more sweet bluegills to fill my freezer in the coming months.

I hope, anyway��


This website was linked in my Top Five newsletter today. The writer of the site likes to play pranks on both people (posing as a 10-year old, and writing a letter asking every U.S. senator for their favorite joke) and companies (consumer information help sites seem to be one of his favorite targets)

This link is to the pages that had me laughing out loud. Check out the �Italian Style Threats� page he sent to the fine folks at Lean Cuisine, for example.

Being a prankster from way back, I can appreciate what he has accomplish in his pursuit of messing up people�s minds. He is just having fun with these people, nothing more. Nothing is done in bad taste.

Well, maybe the taste of the Raspberry Lime �NectarFizz� soft drink tastes bad, but his letter to the makers is totally in good taste�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top