Today's music?

Prince - "Musicology" (2004 - Paisley Park/NPG Records)....He's back, and in rare form.....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Apr. 20, 2004 - 8:59 p.m.

Early jamming?

Made a batch of strawberry jam tonight.

Yes, it�s early for that. And no, the berries are not from my garden.

Some farmer in California grew them for me.

The local Kroger had a really good price on half-flats yesterday, so I bought one. A half flat is 4 pounds, which (if my Mohall education serves me right) works out to 2 full quarts.

I stopped at Walgreens to pick up my digital prints. They double printed 9 of the shots by mistake, and didn�t print 9 others at all. Every time I use this service, they seem to mess something up. Nothing that can�t be fixed with another trip to the photo center.

But I digress�.

I had the canning pot filled with half-pint jars in hot water (anyone have extra half-pint canning jars they don�t need anymore? I am totally out, with none in the local stores this early in the season), and set to hulling the strawberries.

I cooked the pared strawberries at a medium temperature for about 30 minutes. This was to break the fruit down so I could crush them into bite-sized pieces. I followed the directions that came with the boxed pectin (I couldn�t find my Ball Bluebook. Misplaced it somehow last fall, I guess). I then cooked the jam one full minute after the sugar/fruit mixture came to a rolling boil.

Have I mentioned before that I always seem to screw up strawberry jam? More often than not, I end up with a liquid substance that tastes great, but has the consistency of ice cream topping, not jam.

This time, I used the bulk pectin we picked up at Amishtown last summer. A box of pectin weighs 1.75 ounces. I used 2.5 ounces of the bulk stuff instead.

The recipe said the finished product should be about 8 half-pints.

I ended up with 12.

I only stretched the sugar by an extra cup.

I guess the 4 pounds of berries added up to more than 2 quarts worth of fruit.

It appears to be thickening up nicely, but I won�t know for sure until tomorrow morning�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top