Today's music?

The Jam "Sound Effects" (1980 -Polydor Records) possibly the best album from the most "British" rock band of all time....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Jun. 21, 2004 - 4:06 p.m.

Past a milestone the other day and didn�t even know it�plus- A trip to the market, with a nice bonus at the checkout counter�

A short note- I posted entry #1000 on Friday. Didn�t even realize it until I noticed the count on my profile page just now.

1000!

No way I figured on putting together enough stories from my daily routine to fill that many entries when I started this webpage back in July of 2001. Even though many of my entries contain photographs, I still try to tell the story behind them before just throwing them up there.

My daily routine is hardly interesting enough to write that many entries and not end up repeating myself. But somehow you seem to stop by and read whatever I put here anyway.

To those of you who continue to stop by and read this page?

Thank you for doing so�.


Speaking about my boring routine:

I stopped back at the local Kroger after work tonight. They are running one of those crazy �10 for $10� sales they do every so often. Whatever ends up in the flier is usually way below the usual price.

Sometimes WAY below.

That�s the idea, isn�t it? Put a few items on sale well below usual (sometimes even below the store�s wholesale cost) to get you in the door. Then, they figure you will buy enough other overpriced stuff to still make a profit.

Don�t usually work that way with us. We just pick up the sale items, along with a few other things we need, and head out the door.

Today, I did that one better.

How?

Simple- I bought only things from the sale. 64-ounce bottle of store-brand apple juice? Regularly priced at $2.29. Only $1 today.

Bought 5 of those. They could store in the basement for a year, but I will use them making applesauce and butter later this fall.

Store-brand un-refrigerated pudding 4-packs (that�s a lot of hyphens for one sentence, don�t you think?) Regularly priced at $1.69.

Yep- $1 each today. Bought 6 of them for Codeman.

Soup in hand? $1.69 each, now $1.

You get idea.

One problem- I only went there today for one main item, and they were sold out. 4-pound bags of sugar for the same $1. They have went through so many bags and rain checks, the woman behind the counter said �Sugar rain check?� when she waited on me.

Yes please. Along with one for the 16-ounce salad dressing and 50-count iced tea bags.

I�ll need the sugar in the coming weeks. Should be plenty of peaches, grapes, and nectarine to put up, and I will go through all 40 pounds in no time. The other stuff? Too good a price to pass up.

What was the bonus at the checkout I mentioned in this entry�s title?

You know how your local senior citizen center is always asking for fans and air conditioners every summer? We try to buy one or two every year for donating to this worthy cause.

Fans, that is. Maybe if I ever win the lottery I will toss in a few air conditioners too.

The box fans at Kroger were priced about $5 higher than Wallyworld, but if you want to you can leave your fan in a large box at the front of the store. The checker told me that the center has someone come by and pick them up every few days, so they don�t sit there for a long period of time.

In the past, I have always delivered the fan to the center. It is now located on the other side of town from us, a good 15 minute drive each way.

It was worth the extra $5 to save the drive.

And the best part?

I figure I saved much more on my purchases than the fan set me back at the checkout.

I think you can call this a win-win situation�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top