Today's music?

Secret Machines - "Now Here is Nowhere" (2004 - Reprise Records)...favorite new band this year-think Pink Floyd, with John Bon



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Jul. 08, 2004 - 7:34 p.m.

Seems like all I am photographing lately is�

Sunflowers!

Yes, that�s what the farmer has planted in the field across the road from the Mohall storage.

The new owner of the land (all 80+ acres of it) is also a large feed and seed seller in the county. His biggest market is for birdseed (duh!). I guess he decided to start growing his own sunflowers, because he hasn�t done this in the past.

I remember when the farmer was planting these seeds just this May, it seemed like he was shutting down his tractor/planter every few feet, climbing down from the cab, and checking something on his planter�s settings.

He must have been trying to tell if the seed was being put in the soil at the proper rate. Probably new to him, too�


Here is a closer-to-the-field shot, hopefully to put the vastness of this planting into perspective. I took this (and the next photo) standing in the bed of one of our dump trucks (on my own time, natch�), to get a higher viewpoint. Beings that we live in a very flat part of this country, finding a natural high point is pretty hard to do:

That photo does show the size of the field, but doesn�t show the details of the blooms too well.

How about a little zoom action?

That�s a little bit better. By the way- I didn�t do anything to increase the saturation on these photographs. Just cropped and resized each, and sharpened up the distant shots a little. The color is already there- no need to jack it up any�


I took this photo by standing in the first couple of rows of the field and holding the camera up over my head.

Yes, they are tall. Many of the shots I took this way were quickly deleted. Off kilter, camera angle too high or too low- no way to tell what you are shooting when the camera is 4 feet from your eye:

Just like in real life- there always has to be a couple of overachievers, sticking their heads up over the crowd.

Sef saw this shot, and told me that the tallest sunflower were trying to prove that they were �lead worker material�.

If you worked in our (yes still, 19 months later) lead worker-less storage, you would probably get the humor in that comment�


One last shot.

It is rated R, for mature subject matter.

So if graphic depictions of sexual acts makes your blood boil, just skip the rest of this entry.

Just click on this link, and the obscene photo below won�t send lascivious thoughts coursing through your mind. Instead, you can read why According to the Command of the Lord, Singing Hymns is an abomination unto the Lord (according to a Rev.H. DeCock �his name is DeCock..heh heh, snicker !)

(That was the most conservative thing I could round up via Google, btw. Read this dogma from ultra-conservative Hell at your own risk)

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Still here?

O.k., here�s the dirty photo:

I titled this file �why I hate Japanese Beetles�.

This photo sums it up. The beetle in the front (which I am assuming is a female beetle) is eating away on the petals of one of the sunflower blooms. The beetle in the back is getting his freak on. And just below him, on the yellow of the petal, lies the waste material he produced just before getting him some, u-huh.

All these pests do for the portion of their lifecycle that they are above the ground is eat, fuck each other, and take dumps.

I have been keeping up with them in my gardens pretty well. Since they came out early this year, they didn�t catch me by surprise.

I have already emptied on 5-pound bag of Sevin� dust, and have already opened another. Tomorrow, I have to spray the apple trees at work to keep the killing going on. Can�t use dust on trees- the slightest breeze would send the powder flying back into my face.

Which isn�t good for you�


Sorry if you were hoping for a picture with humans having sex, instead of Japanese beetles.

I imagine if you try hard enough, you can probably find a photo or two of nude people out there somewhere on the Internet�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top