Today's music?

Ty Tabor - "Safety" (2002- Metal Blade Recordfs)...King's X guitarist sad "divorce" solo album...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Jul. 29, 2004 - 8:16 p.m.

Sometimes what you don�t plan for in a garden can be a nice bonus�.plus- a new �Roadiepig�s cooking for dumb people� tips (can�t use the word �dummies�, or I might face a lawsuit ;)

Here�s the tip (I wish I had used it myself tonight):

NEVER COOK BACON IN AN OPEN SKILLET WITHOUT WEARING SOME SORT OF SHIRT! AND I MEAN NEVER!

My belly looks like I have measles or something.

Yes, I should know better than this. But, as I said in the title- it was a �cooking for dumb people� tip.

DUMB!

Hey, the BLT�s were tasty anyway. I even had a surprisingly early �Brandywine� ripe to slice for the �T� part of the sandwich.

I also threw together a quick stir-fry side dish of �Papaya Pear� squash, red ripe bell pepper, and �redwing� red onions to go with the toasted sandwiches.

Summer meals don�t get much better than this�


You know I do a little planning; getting my garden started each year. I buy a bunch of seeds and grow them inside to get an early start. I try to space things so that I get the most for my �square footage�.

I even start a few flower seeds at work every spring. Don�t need them for anything- I almost never even cut any of them. I just grow them for a little extra something between the pumpkin vines and tomato plants.

Even with all this planning, I am constantly surprised with what decides to come along and grow voluntarily.

Case in point?

Check this �weed� out:

Not spectacular, right? It is tall- at least 5� from ground to top of plant.

But the flowers aren�t too visible in this shot.

Here is a better view (two of them, actually):

This is a very poisonous wild Datura, or Angel�s Trumpet. Its common name is �Jimson Weed�.

This plant is responsible for numerous emergency room visits every year, mainly from teenagers who read somewhere (on the web maybe?) that they can catch a free buzz by consuming the seeds of the plant.

I have the larger flowering white version of this plant growing between our house and Drug Dealing Neighbors abode. I bought a plant from a seller at the local farmer�s market about three years ago. It has managed to reseed itself ever since, and has just begun blooming again this week.

This one is a little bit smaller, bloom wise. The plant is much taller. I figure that is due to all of the 12-12-12 fertilizer I tilled under back in the spring.

If it makes it to maturity, I will pick a few of the seedpods and scatter the seeds away from the work garden where all the other wild flowers bloom. I think there are a couple of varieties of sunflower, goldenrod, and chicory growing in the 15� by 5� space right now.

Might as well reward the effort this plant went through to grow in the vegetable garden by letting it propagate where it doesn�t take up valuable growing space next year�


I shot something like 150 photographs today. I shot some of the Wave� petunias, growing in massive beds out near Wallyworld and the Mall. Took a few of my onion/garlic/shallot harvest, hanging from the ceiling of the garage, too. Probably post a few here in the future.

Most, though, were of the sunflowers growing in the field across the road from the storage. The view isn�t as pretty anymore- the seed heads are filled and drooping, and the leaves have already started turning yellow.

I thought that they made an interesting subject for just those reasons. Black and white editing seems to be the ticket.

I�ll let you know if they turn out they way I hope they do�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top