Today's music?

Michal - "sky with stars" (2000 - Sony Music) Female singer/songwriter, similar to Aimee Mann- I like it, anyway...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Aug. 04, 2004 - 8:09 p.m.

So begins the yearly marathon that is known here as�

Salsa.

Yes, I know- I made a couple of small batches peach salsa.

That don�t count as real salsa to me

I am talking about good old fashioned, tomato-onion-garlic-pepper based; get out the new bag of tortilla chips salsa.

A side note- I have had about 50 page hits over the past few days from people looking for Carlos O�Kelly�s salsa recipe. I think I made the mistake to mention that is from where my basic recipe came.

I haven�t used a recipe for making my canned tomato salsa for about 10 years. The only constants are the 1 tbs. of limejuice put into each jar BEFORE that cooked salsa is added for processing. Everything else is subject to change, as in- how many hot/mild peppers do I have ready, are the tomatoes really sweet or tart, and what variety of garlic will I use today.

Nothing, and I mean NOTHING else is due to a recipe.

So if you ended up here for Carlos�s recipe?

Better just buy a take-out container of the stuff, and try to figure it out for yourself

Anyway�

Tonight�s batch was for 16 full pints, plus about 1/3rd of a jar of unprocessed. According to Lease, this batch gets the �mild� designation.

There is always a bottle of hot sauce, if�in it isn�t hot enough for ya�


I made this after putting in an 8-hour day at work.

The last jars were coming out of the water bath canner about the time Lease pulled into the driveway.

I also threw together a small batch of raw (Pico de Gallo) salsa for supper, which was beef/chorizo soft tacos, made while I was between jobs making and canning the salsa.

I am dead tired, folks.

For that reason, I am bailing out right here.

I�ll leave you with another bunch of photos of flowers.

These are growing up by out local Wallyworld. A volunteer force spurred on by our local mayor planted them there. Everything- the flowers, the labor, and the watering/fertilizing- cost the local taxpayers nothing.

Pretty cool, IMHO.

The flowers are various shades of the �Wave�� variety of petunias. The color is almost overwhelming up close.

So much so that my camera couldn�t read the purple flowers properly through the viewfinder.

They looked cornflower blue.

Strange.

Anyway- here are the photos�

This shows the layout of one of the beds. What it doesn�t show is how much these flowers light up the location, though.

I guess you will just have to drive to Mohall and see them yourself�


Here are a couple (of the many) close-up shots I took:

Just for your information (or in case you were wondering)- I didn�t adjust the color (or the saturation of the color) on any of these photos.

They really are that bright and vibrant.

No wonder they are the hottest selling annual landscape plant around�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top