Today's music?

Secret Machines - "Now Here is Nowhere" (2004 - Reprise Records)...favorite new band this year-think Pink Floyd, with John Bon



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Aug. 13, 2004 - 10:53 p.m.

I really should stop beating my head against the wall, but�

I have about 350 photos from last weekend that need my attention.

Some need to be cropped.

Some need to be cleaned up in some way.

Some need to be just deleted.

I still haven�t found time to play around with them�

After my entry in the photo of the week contest for a local ABC station lost out to sleeping boxer puppy with his genitalia exposed, I figured my �muse� was lost.

Why take the time and effort to shoot what I see and post it for others to see online, if it�s going to be passed up for a blurry snapshot of a sleeping puppy?

Tonight after work, I decided it was time to clean up the prairie beds in front of Casa Roadiepig. The early blooming flowers had faded and left their dead stalks. The mums (yes, I know- not a native flower) had not been deadheaded, and because of this they had started blooming.

A mess.

I have a bunch of Queen Anne�s Lace growing throughout these two beds. Known to most as a weed (it grows in most of the United States along the roadside right-of-way, so you probably have seen it where you live), I think it belongs in any �wild� bed here in North Dakota.

I have to remove it where it tries to take over areas, but I generally let it do its thing wherever it pops up.

I had to pull a bunch of it tonight where it was hanging over the driveway. Lease was having trouble parking the Vibe; it had drooped so far out of their bed and into the concrete.

Even though I am still a little pissed off about the results of the online poll (and yes, I know almost every one of you voted for my photograph- some many times ;) I still see things through an (very amateur) photographers eye.

As I was pulling the excess Queen Anne�s lace out, this caught my eye:

Too easy.

The caterpillar�s (they are Eastern Swallowtail butterfly caterpillars- thanks to Strangerlucy for sending me this link so I knew what they are) bright coloring really stood out against the foliage of the white blooms of the �weed�.

There were a total of three of these caterpillars feeding upon the leaves. I shot 8 photographs that I kept, and I liked these two the best.

I can guarantee you- these won�t be sent to a local TV station for their �Vote for me!� photo contest.

I just hope you enjoy them here��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top