Today's music?

Jaared - "Hangtime" (2002 MEG Ltd.) nice sax- based mellow jazz....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Oct. 28, 2004 - 8:39 p.m.

A bunch of stuff�

Since I haven�t written much here lately, I figured I would ramble a bit about current events.

Try to stay awake�


Good for the Boston Red Sox.

Winning their first World Series since 1918 last night was a dream come true for all of their long-suffering fans.

I have always been a Red Sox fan, twice removed, (after the Cubs and White Sox), probably because they have been as pathetic as my teams over the past century or so.

I have three Red Sox hats (all New Era brand, two fitted) that are so old they were made with bills that are green on their undersides. Major league teams switched to gray undersides back in the early 1990�s after a study showed that fielders were able to see hit baseballs better with that color. I don�t know how far back the green bills went, but every hat I owned as a child was that color.

Anyway�

I heard several people today (on both the radio and TV) saying how this would mess up die-hard Red Sox fans lives.

Why?

Their reasoning was that for as long as most of them have been alive, they have pulled for a team that always finds a way to loose. They have been in 3 other World Series in my lifetime, and managed to loose the deciding game 7 in each and every one of them.

So�.with their team finally winning it all, the weight won�t be lifted off of their shoulders after all. Now, they no longer have an identity.

As a long-suffering Chicago Cubs fan (last World Series championship- 1908!), I would gladly trade places with all of them.

Like I said a little while back- there is nothing �loveable� about being a �looser�.

At least not when it comes to professional sports�


For any St. Louis Cardinal fans who might be reading this entry (Zackal? You still alive?)

Sorry about your teams failure to show up to play this week. They could have at least made it interesting (for the folks at Fox, anyway).

But remember this fact- you have enjoyed watching your team PLAY IN THE WORLD SERIES 4 times in the last 25 years. And they won it all in 1982 (I was smoking a lot of weed back then, so I don�t really remember that one).

My Dad (who turned 75 this year) was 16 the last time the Cubs made the Series.

And I was still (negative)16 years old at the time.

And no, I won�t say �wait until next year� at this point in the entry (and mean it, anyway).

After all�it�s just a game�.


Does anyone out there agree with my thoughts that the upcoming election for president will be filled with voter fraud? By both sides, btw?

When you have several counties in Ohio (statewide-8% more registered voters than in 2000) with more people registered to vote than actual citizen living in said counties?

When the state of Florida admitted today that they had somehow �misplaced� around 50,000 absentee ballots mailed by citizens (many serving in the military) to various counties?

When an official for a �get out the vote� organization in Pennsylvania admitted to paying some of her volunteers with crack cocaine to bring in new voter�s registration cards?

Unless one of the two stuffed shirts comes away with a landslide win next Tuesday, I fear all of us will be stuck waiting on courts (both Supreme and small) to decide who will run this messed up, totally divided country for the next 4 years�.


Didn�t anyone else catch the lunar eclipse last night, besides me?

I printed off a couple of the photos I took last night and brought them to work this morning. Nobody (and I mean NOBODY) even checked to see if it was visible with the overcast skies last night. Most of my coworkers didn�t even know one was happening (even though it made the front page of the local and national newspapers, and was featured on television newscasts).

Nobody responded to the photos I posted here at D-land, either.

A lunar eclipse isn�t nearly as rare as the solar version (lunar- 3 times in our area in the past 14 months�solar? Much smaller area covered, and last one here in Mohall was a partial one back in the early 1990�s), but that doesn�t take anything away from how cool it is to view one.

And nobody I work with even bothered to step outside to see if the clouds had cleared away.

Most of them stuck with game 4 of the World Series until they were convinced the Cardinals would loose, though.

Typical�.


Tomorrow evening?

I have to be at the local old (haunted?) movie theater at 6 to do some trial shots for the wedding.

I just want to see how good the lighting is, and try several film speed settings to see what looks best using flash.

Maybe, if I have a little bit of free time, I can let you see what I will be working with BEFORE the ceremony Saturday night.

Any opinions you might have would be gladly accepted and considered�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top