Today's music?

U2 - "How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb" (2004 - Universal Music) Reminds me of the pre-1990's U2 (and that's a good t



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Wednesday, Dec. 29, 2004 - 9:16 p.m.

So much death�

In the past 16 months I have had to deal with the deaths of :

My Dad�s brother (my uncle)

My step-Grandmother (My stepmom�s mom)

My cousin (my dad�s sister�s son)

And yesterday? The ceremony for a friend from both high school (his dad made him finish his high school education, even though that meant he was in sophomore classes, one year after he should have graduated) and from many years on the baseball diamond (as a fellow coach , trying to do the best for our sons).

But�

Compared to what the inhabitants of (take you pick- India, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Phuket, Somalia, and on and on) have suffered through the last week or so?

Nothing can compare. The final tally will surely end up over 100,000 dead.

That is just a staggering figure, don�t you think?

According to that self-righteous �twit� from the United Nations (and Norway? Denmark?), the folks who live in the same country as I (the evil empire, aka The United States of America) don�t donate nearly enough money to world relief efforts.

I feel he is full of shit (our government alone donates 40% of the entire planet�s relief aid, not including what private citizens do over that), but�

That doesn�t mean we can�t do something to help out in the (overwhelming) relief that is needed in the aftermath of the tsunamis that has caused so much devastation to so many areas in the Pacific Rim area of this planet.

I am not sure what we will do (over and above what we try to do on a regular basis) to help in this effort, but I know that we have to do SOMETHING!

If you feel the same way?

Please take the time to visit this site (posted on the Kim Komando web site), containing many options for you to chose from in this very important subject.

No, I am not trying to tell you what to do with whatever funds you want to distribute to charity. Far be it for me to ever tell anyone else what they should do with this personal subject.

I just wanted to give you as many different options as possible where you can send your help, if you aren�t sure where to start.

All I can tell you is, considering the scale of this disaster and how nice we have it here in America, even thought I now have saved enough money for it, the Canon digital Rebel now seems so unimportant, and will just have to wait a little while longer�..

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top