Today's music?

Thunder, striking nearby (it is January, isn't it?)



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005 - 7:55 p.m.

Weird day all around�( photo of cute kid at the end of the entry, if reading it gets too boring)

Lease took a bereavement day from work today. Her sister Angie�s husband�s sister�s oldest daughter (I have no idea how that works out to me, relations-wise) sadly passed away from leukemia last week, and she wanted to be there for family support. Since I never met her, I figured that one of us going would be enough.

One thing, though- I forgot to turn the alarm off for Lease�s wake-up. So I did the whole � hit the snooze button, wait 5 minutes, and then when the alarm goes off again, nudge Lease until she wakes up� routine, only remembering her plans when the second alarm rang.

That meant I had a full hour left to sleep (as per usual).

But�

Sproutman decided he wanted to rise at 5:10 am, when the second snooze went off.

That meant I had to snatch his bald butt up off of the floor and add him to the overcrowded mattress.

Where he spent the next 45 minutes tossing and turning, not allowing me to go back to sleep. Hard to believe a 7+ pound dog could do enough to keep me awake.

He can.

So I went to work today slightly groggy.

The workday did nothing to take me out of that state. It continues to rain here , and the sky was twilight dark several times as heavy bands of rain , complied by thunderclaps you almost never here outside of the summer months, all day.

Add to that the fact that Doughnut hung around for the last 2 hours, leaving us all wondering if today was the day that they FINALLY NAME A MOHALL #1 LEADWORKER! (no, he didn�t. 25 months and counting).

Oh yeah- and someone called the fine management folks at London, complaining about how filthy our storage has become. My day was complete.

I know what the caller was bitching about- Beavis refuses to keep anyone in the storage to keep the sanitation at the proper level. As soon as any storm ends, he thinks everyone but myself needs to be back on the roads and right of way, even if all they are doing is picking up trash on the shoulders (irony missed by him there).

Doughnut made sure I knew that the areas needing attention were the shop and cold bays. I have little to do with the upkeep of these areas.

But I�m sure he didn�t like getting his butt reamed by his higher-ups over this anonymous call to London�


Came home, and spent some time trying to catch up outside. The constant rain and snow meant that the dog droppings had accumulated around the back yard and patio. The added moisture makes the task SO MUCH BETTER!

Nothing like scooping up soggy�well- you get my point.

While I was doing this, the dogs were outside with me. Lightning was clapping off to the distance, far away to be of no risk to us, but close enough to send the dogs into fits. They were practically begging me to take them inside.

Like I said- weird day all around�


B.A.C.E. Lake is reportedly 17 feet above normal winter pool!

The newscast at lunch said that only the high water ramps are open for boaters.

Two things- the high water ramps were put in several years ago to allow a few people to get out and fish and play on the lake in late spring (the time when this lake has happened to flood in the past), NOT FOR THE MONTH OF JANUARY!

Second- why on earth would ANYONE be taking a boat out on the lake in a 17 foot above normal pool January? The only hardy souls who hit the water this time of winter are crappie fishermen, and that�s only if the ice hasn�t formed yet.

Obviously, it hasn�t.

But with the water so high, the odds of catching any fish right now are slim and none, and slim just left town.

Guess it�s time to start tying my yearly supply of jigs. Not much of a chance I will be fishing down there in the near future.

I wonder how high the water is at N.P.P. Lake? That body of water has a passive spillway instead of a damn, so the extra water leaves quickly. B.A.C.E. is a corps of engineer�s lake, built to protect farmland from flooding downstream.

MLK day is Monday. If the temperature is even bearable (and it wasn�t last year, but that didn�t stop me from going anyway) I might head up there then�


One last thing-

I finally got around to editing the rest of the photographs from Angie and Tyrone�s house on Christmas.

Been a little busy lately, you know?

I cracked up when I came across this shot. It was taken of Tyrone�s 1 year old grandson, Tyrone III ,at his level. After changing it to black and white, I liked it even more:

Sometimes, the portrait you take without capturing the subject�s whole body turns out ok anyway�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top