Today's music?

Nothing...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Jan. 21, 2005 - 5:46 p.m.

One screwed up work week�

Lets see- what�s happened since I last wrote?

I ended up getting the call at 9:45 on Tuesday. By the time I loaded my truck and hit my route, the light freezing mix had ended. I treated my bridge decks and intersections, and returned to the yard.

One problem- once Midnight rolls around, you have to stay until 5:20 am to earn your full days pay. Beavis knew that was going to be the casr, and he left Pumpkinhead with a list of jobs to keep us busy.

Nothing like washing salt-encrusted trucks or climbing a ladder to put boxes of paper towels in a loft at 3m, with very little sleep over the past 24 hours!

In other words? One very long 5 hours and 20 minutes.

I went home and slept like a rock. I ended up waking at 3 pm, leaving me just enough time do get caught up with household tasks before it was time to try to sleep again.

As you probably already know, I can�t after sleeping during the daytime. I tossed and turned for at least 3 hours before I fell off into lousy dreams.

Woke up Thursday morning spent. Put in a full day, even thought the state had a forecast for light freezing rain for the evening.

You know where this is going, right?

We had just sat down to dinner, 2 minutes into the Illini/ Iowa (team motto? �We have a rapist starting at point guard, but he was a victim too!� Steve Afford is a cretin for not kicking that piece of crap off of the team) basketball game.

More freezing drizzle.

I shoveled down a few spoonfuls of the chicken and rice I had thrown together, and headed back to work.

I hurried into the storage so I could listen to the game on my truck�s radio. Illinois did everything they could to loose the game (shot 33%, had 18 turnovers), but managed to pull the game out in overtime. By then, the light precip had stopped. We treated the criticals again, and had our trucks dumped, fueled up, and put away by 9:30.

Sooooo��

I went home, and tried to sleep. Again.

Needless to say, sleep again didn�t come easy. After driving around for 3 hours, listening to a wild basketball game (luckily for me, nobody pulled beside me as I screamed at the radio at the end of regulation the overtime), there was no way I would go quickly to sleep.

I might have fallen asleep around 1 am. Since I am brought from my slumber by the clock radio at 5:30 that meant little sleep again.

Today?

The forecast was much worse than the last few days (damn �Alberta Clippers�, rolling one after another out of the Canadian plains!). The management waited until 10:20 am to tell our storages that the night crew would be going home at 11 am. That left little time to get everyone back into the yard, and to make sure their trucks were ready for the storm.

I drove home (after a quick oil change for the Vibe, and a trip to the drive thru at the credit union), and went right to bed. Slept soundly (even if the dreams were very Technicolor and bizarre) until 3 pm . Again.

Now?

Just waiting for the phone. Since nothing was falling at 3:30, I am guessing that the day crew is already home. The radar loop is showing light mixed crap just a county or two north of here.

I better throw a Tombstone� pizza in the oven so I actually get to eat a dinner tonight. For that reason, I will quit writing and just leave you with a few pictures of my very late blooming amaryllis. It finally opened it�s first blooms on Sunday. These shots were taken on Monday morning, outside on my front porch (to capture natural light).

First shot, to show the size of the blooms and the vivid reds:

I learned my lesson many years ago, and always stake the plant up before the blooms open. I had several stalks fall and break before I started that practice.

Next two were taken using the macro setting on my Minolta digital, and holding the old +4 macro filter from my old Canon rebel (film) camera to the lens (someday, I�ll get around to buying the digital Rebel. But not today):


Check out the grains of pollen, coating the stamens of the flower:


If the bad weather materializes, I won�t be back here for a few days.

If you live in the areas that are to get heavy snow from this last Clipper- please take it easy, and drive slow enough to stay out of the ditches�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top