Today's music?

comes with the fall - "The Year is One" (DVL Recordings - 2001) Still my favorite album of that year...



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Feb. 03, 2005 - 8:59 p.m.

Just like a 7 year old on Christmas morning�

The Digital Rebel and its lenses have arrived.

I had them in my hands (at work) by 10 am this morning. Since Beavis is so anal (his rule is �Absolutely no personal deliveries at work!�, even though I can�t find anything in the employee code prohibiting this), I called Doughnut (his boss) last week and cleared this delivery through him. I also promised Doughnut that I wouldn�t play with the camera. I would only receive it, and then put it inside my locked Hillbilly truck.

Since the UPS guys always stops by the storage around 10 am, I had a plan to keep Bev from even knowing I had a package- I mopped the floors in the office. Even told him that he should stay in his office while the floors dried.

Sneaky? Yes, in a 6th grader kinda way.

It worked. He never knew the package arrived.

I have to admit- the temptation to play with this toy was high. But I left the CF media card at home. Since the camera didn�t come with one, that meant I couldn�t take photos even if I wanted to.

So I didn�t even take the new camera, or the lenses, out of their respective boxes.

But�

I did take the battery out of the box, and hooked it up with the charger. Might have used .02� worth of taxpayer electricity, getting it ready to use.

Don�t tell Beavis.

I also removed the owner�s manual from the box. I only looked at it on my own time.

So�

I think you can say I kept my promise, right?


This camera is much closer to a SLR film camera than I have been used to for the past 6 years. There are tons of manual settings that I need to learn about, along with such basic functions as deleting a file while still in the camera (I think I have that down) to how to set the shutter speed to work without a flash in low light situations (not even close right now).

I can use my old media card reader to upload the files. That will save me from having to add more software to this 3-year-old Dell, which is a very good thing. The file viewing program I am still using is the one that came with the Fuji digital I bought 4 years ago! It is still the easiest upload file I have found, and does just what I want it to do.

The basic Adobe� Photoshop Elements disc will be downloaded and given a shot. If I can do some editing features better with it than either the Photo Elf or Photo Impressions programs I already utilize, it will find a place on my desktop.

But as of now, I don�t plan on taking the Canon cd-rom out of it�s wrapping�


Since I didn�t even put a lens on the body until I was home tonight, I didn�t have time to try to do anything special with the Rebel.

This weekend? Codeman has already told me he wants to experiment with it with me, whenever I have the time.

I�ll make the time, Super Bowl and Illini vs. Indiana basketball be damned.

There is plenty more I have to say about both why I bought this camera, and what I plan on doing with my still useful my old cameras in the next few days.

For now, I want to leave you with 2 edited photos I took this evening after work. Like I said- nothing special. Both were taken with my butt planted in the computer desk�s chair.

But I think both give you an idea of the potential this camera (along with the many filters and old lenses I have to use with it) has.

First one- just a shot of several leaves on an old schefflera tree (houseplant) I have growing in the second bedroom:

Pretty colorful.

But this next one really caught my eye. I took it with my Vivitar 70-210 mm macro lens that I used to use on the old film Rebel. I used the new camera�s built-in flash, and used the zoom portion of the lens so I could get as far away from Sproutman as possible. After cropping, I came up with this perspective of the little man, grooming himself:

I think I will be having a lot of fun with this new camera�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top