Today's music?

Momento - "beginnings" (2003 - Sony Music) Loud, angry music....



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Monday, Apr. 11, 2005 - 9:13 p.m.

No rest for the wicked (or me, for that matter)

One very busy weekend just passed by. I�ll keep the events short and to the point.

Friday was uneventful. That can be a good thing.

Saturday was our first official �Summer Saturday�, even though we are barely into spring here in Mohall.

But�

The high temperature on Saturday was 81�! That�s crazy for early April.

So we set up the TV on the patio table, and we grilled animal flesh over charcoal. We even watched the White Sox win a ballgame before it finally became too cool for Lease. From there, we went into the basement for pinball and pool.

All in all, a nearly perfect day (Wallyworld trip in the afternoon the only downer).

Sunday?

How about getting up early (early for us, anyway) and fishing most of the day? Better yet, the fish were cooperating for once.

We worked the shoreline on the two main bridges on N.P.P. Lake, landing mostly Bluegills (many large ones, though). I caught another dozen or so White Crappie, but only one was a keeper. It was 12� long, though, so it was a very nice keeper. We weren�t keeping anything (previous obligations in the late afternoon, explained below), so I offered it to an elderly black woman fishing just down the bank from us. I had noticed her keeping all the small bluegills she landed, and she was glad to take the large fish from me.

Why didn�t I give her the larger Bluegills we landed? Truthfully- I didn�t want to keep walking back and forth between us. I�m not exactly a Mountain Goat walking on the ever-shifting riprap covering the shoreline anymore�


The previous obligation?

Taking the photographs for the Lovely Chelsea�s brother and his fianc�. They needed one good photograph to send to the local newspaper for their wedding announcement.

I ended up shooting 64 frames. Had to make sure that they liked at least one, don�t you think?

Spent the better part of 2 hours cropping and editing the 64 down to the 30 or so I had printed at Walgreens today. Added those to the (late) edits from Easter and our niece and nephew�s play, and I ended up having 176 -4�x6� printed, along with 4- 5�x7� �s. Even with some of the photos being multiple prints, I still had 97 different files on the cd-rom I took to the drug store.

Crazy.

Anyway�

Here is my favorite shot of the soon-to-be- married couple:

The filter used for this one was Fog B, a heavy diffuser. Gives the photograph an overall �dreamy�, romantic look, don�t you think?


Bonus photos from today!

Came home tonight to find I had finally captured one of the neighborhood�s most wanted peach thieves. This has to be the fattest tree rat I have trapped in the 2 years I have been relocating these pests. I had noticed him in the neighbor�s trees last week, so I set the Havaheart back up, hoping for the best. After releasing two unfortunate ground squirrels (they cause me no harm, so they were given parole in the back yard), I found this when I came home tonight from work:

Yeah, sure- he looks cute from this view. If you heard all of the swearing he was doing at me while I took his photograph, you would change your opinion on his �cuteness� rather quickly.

Jay found the captured foe very interesting:

That was as close as I let him get to the squirrel. I didn�t want to take the chance of the rat sticking a claw or two into Jay-dog�s nose. Hard telling what kinda diseases he might be carrying.

After loading the cage into the back of the Hillbilly truck (and Sproutman into the front seat), I drove the rat to the same section of woods several miles south of here that I had released all of the previous detainees. He leapt from the cage as soon as the door was opened, climbed up the nearest tree, and gave me one last cussing out before I drove away.

Can�t say I�ll miss him. Well, maybe in a positive way I will, when I harvest my tree-ripened peaches and apricots in the coming months�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top