Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Sept. 02, 2005 - 11:37 p.m.

Uncomfortably numb�

Unlike Pink Floyd, I have spent the last few days in the state I typed in the line above.

To see New Orleans reduced to a city of water filled canals, starvation, and dehydration- it is almost more than I can take.

Living up here in North Dakota, it seems so far away and yet as close as next door. I can not imagine the desperation the people are feeling, standing on the hot pavement outside of the Superdome and other locations, hoping and praying that someone- SOMEONE- will give them a bottle of water, the medicine they need to live, anything to keep them alive.

Helpless�that�s how I feel.

Yes, I gave what I could to the Red Cross (I highly recommend you do the same if you are trying to decide how you can help- if for no other reason that they are on the ground, trying to get the most basic supplies into the hands of the refugees- nothing more, nothing less).

But I have to say one thing- anyone (and I mean ANYONE!) who is presently trying to make political hay (and you KNOW what I mean) deserves to be cursed with 10 times the trouble these poor people are suffering through as I type this.

Blaming this one (chose one- the President, the Kyoto accord, troops in the wrong part of the world, the mayor being less than demanding of complete evacuation, and the race of the vast majority of the people who couldn�t get out- I think that covers about the entire political spectrum, far left to far right) on anything besides nature (I don�t think Al Qaeda has taken credit for the hurricane yet, have they?) is as low as political discourse can go.

Water. That is what the people left behind need more than anything else right now. A $5 donation will pay for a full case of bottle water. That case could save the lives of many people.

Do what you can� that�s all I�m saying.


On a lighter note�

Cleaning the weeds out of my work garden today (at lunchtime- on my own time, �natch), I realized that I had ignored my late planting of beets. They had been somewhat overrun by both wild morning glories and weed grasses, so I hadn�t seen them in some time.

After removing the crap, I found that I had many large roots, waiting to be harvested.

I talked a coworker into taking a bagful for his own use, left another grocery store bag full on my sister�s back door, and brought the rest home to process into sweet pickled beets.

That took me from 4 pm until 8:30 to finish the process. Most of the time was spent outside on the patio with Lease, waiting for the timer to go off.

So it wasn�t hard work.

Ended up with 19 pints of processed goodness. Two appear to be unsealed at this time. No biggie- they will just go into the back of the fridge, to wait for the pickling process to do its magic.

A three day weekend is in front of us, with no real obligations or work to be completed.

The last blast of summer, according to some. The first weekend of college football, with my Illini starting over again with a new coach. I'll be sitting in front of the TV for at least the first half tomorrow.

But it will be hard to stop thinking about the folks in the gulf states. Maybe that�s they way it should be�

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top