Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Sunday, Nov. 20, 2005 - 8:17 p.m.

A VERY old snapshot...plus- a sports update you probably don't care about (unless you live in North Dakota)..

The little guy on the right is (of course) my boy, Codeman. He had to be about 3 years old in this photograph. If you look closely, you can tell I am wearing a "Joshua Tree" era U-2 t-shirt.

Why did I post this photo today, almost 20 years later?

Because it has meaning for me. It was taken by a former co-worker (AKA The Beef) who passed away about a year ago. Another co-worker was visiting the former workers daughter's house, and she gave him a small stack of photographs from The Beef's garage wall. That wall contained photos that he took with a $10 Kodak 110 camera, mostly of his coworkers when they either stopped by his house (he kinda lived in the garage- he kept his Natural Light beer in a fridge there, and had a 19" TV and his tools there, too) or on camping trips to his cabin on the Mississippi River.

This photo?

When the boy was still quite young, we were strapped for spending cash. The Beef had a trolling motor battery that he rarely used, and I didn't have a spare $50 to buy one that summer.

So...

He told me that I HAD to borrow his, anytime I took the Hillbilly boat (yes, the same boat sitting next to our house right now) to either Rhamseys or B.A.C.E. Lake.

A small bit of kindness that he showed to me when we were living paycheck to paycheck.

This photo both brings back warm memories and sadness to me. His kindness will not be forgotten....


Spent the relatively warm weekend getting everything around the home (outsides, anyway) ready for winter.

Canna and dahlia bulbs are dug up, rinsed clean, and stored in sawdust.

The last few areas of the garden are now tilled. I even managed to rake up all of the leaves before I ran the tiller.

BTW- I HATE raking leaves. Always have, always will...


My Chicago Bears won again today.That makes it 6 in a row now.

This win was the most impressive. They faced a team with a better record (7-2 coming in to the game). The Carolina Panthers had averaged over 30 points a game over the past 3 weeks.

Nobody gave the Bears any chance of winning. They were at home, and the bookies were still giving them 3 points. Even so, all of the so-called "experts" said the smart money (and "fantasy football" picks, which I still don't understand) were on the other team.

Wrong- the defense for the Bears kept another team out of the end zone again (3 games in a row) without allowing them to score a touchdown.

Final score? Bears 13, Panthers 3.

And it really wasn't that close- the Bears blew several other opportunities to score, and the Panthers never got closer than the Chicago 20 the whole game.

I am not getting too excited just yet- I remember the 2001 season (13-3 until they got blown out in the first playoff game that winter).

But they have been making my Sunday sports watching a little bit more enjoyable for the past 6 weeks...

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top