Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Tuesday, Mar. 14, 2006 - 8:43 p.m.

Photos of the tornado damage in Springpatch�.

I drove over to Springpatch to pick up Lease and take her to lunch today. She spent the night working in Minot instead of Springpatch, due to all of the damage to the home office building.

Why I thought I would be able to take her anywhere for lunch, I do not know. It's just that I knew she had just gone through a rough day and night, and I wasn't sure they would let her come home to Mohall today, either (thankfully, they did. She ended up working about 20 hours over Monday and Tuesday).

I pulled into the parking lot at Cableco about 5 minutes before they arrived in a shuttle bus from Minot . They had already stopped for burgers, and were running behind. Since many Cableco employees had suffered property damage due to the 3 (yes, three!) tornado touchdowns in town, they were very shorthanded in the office.

Of course, plenty of people were calling in, complaining about their cable being down.

Everybody seems to think these things can be back up and running in the time it takes for an episode of Survivor to play.

The photos in the series I will be posting over the next few days should show you why their cable is down. power lines are strewn across the roads and parking lots. Very few buildings in this part of town escaped unscathed.

I didn't even try to go into the other stricken areas. It was hard enough just getting to the Cableco office. The State had a TMA truck blocking the road as you came into the first intersection of town, but I bypassed it by pulling through a few parking lots.

If Lease hadn't been working there, I wouldn't have taken the chances I did. I had to drive under low power lines that would have hit the roof of a 3-ton dump truck. Glass, nails, and scraps of metal still cover the roads. If I don't have a flat tire on the Vibe tomorrow morning, I will consider myself lucky.

In the short amount of time I shot these photos, at least a dozen other cars pulled around me, their occupants getting out and shooting their own shots.

Gawkers, taking in the aftermath of nature's destructive fury.

All I know is it will be quite a while before Springpatch is back to normal.

And Lease has to drive to work in this mess starting tomorrow morning.


Here are a few photos:

A grain bin, still resting in the center median about 3 miles east of Springpatch.

It was hit by a driver while the storms were hitting Sunday night. He was interviewed by the local TV station, and said, � All of a sudden, there was a grain bin in my lane. Who expects one of those to be in the interstate?�

The main 4 lane on the south side of town was still blocked with very large downed high power lines at noon. The photo is crappy because I was shooting towards the sun and using the full length of my 300mm zoom lens:


This is the intersection next to the Cableco office. I had to squeeze under a low hanging wire there to reach the office:

Every light pole in the Nissan dealership (next door to Cableco) was snapped off at the bottom. Many were still resting on vehicles this morning:


I have many more. I�ll try to post some of those tomorrow�.

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top