Today's music?

Supermint - "Supermint" (1999- Insurgence Records) great powerpop band from Chicago



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Apr. 27, 2006 - 10:13 p.m.

Weeknight fishing....

Went fishing after work this evening. The White Bass are still not in the river like they should be, but there were enough other fish to make things interesting.

I met Moose at his favorite spot (where a small creek feeds into the main branch of the river- a very productive spot for me, too) around 5 pm. Fished until a little after 7. And I drove about 1 hour and 45 minute to do those 2 hours of fishing.

He wasn't keeping anything, so he tossed his keeper Whites into my bucket. We both caught a bunch of undersized Crappies and some very tiny Yellow and White Bass. Between the two of us, we only kept 9 fish. 8 Whites, and this Walleye:

border = 5>


BTW- the fish that the sell on Fridays at your local diner that they call �Walleye� (usually sold as �all you can eat for this low price�) are not true Walleye. They are a distant saltwater relative of the freshwater Walleye. The fish gets it�s name for the odd �white� eyeballs this fish possesses. If you look closely at the specimen in the photo, you can see what I mean

Anyway�.

I dropped the Whites off at Tony the Shop Rat's house on the way home. His daughters (3 and 2 years old) love fish, and I cracked them up by making the Walleye "growl" at them. Walleye have a mouth full of sharp teeth, making them look somewhat fierce. I ended up picking up the Walleye 4 times before I left, because they kept asking me to "make it growl!"

But I actually feel bad about the Walleye.

Why?

Because Moose always talks about how the first time he ever lands a keeper-sized Walleye, he will take it straight to the taxidermist to have it mounted for the wall in his family room. He is in his 50's, and has never caught a keeper (14" minimum).

I hooked this one standing about 4 feet from Moose.

He said this has happened to him more than a few times.

He reached down and landed the fish for me (we were on a steep muddy bank, and he had knee boots on, making it easier for him to reach the water�s edge). I tried to tell him that he actually "caught" the fish in his hands.

He said that doesn�t count.

So I really don�t feel all that good about catching the Walleye. It would have meant more to him that me.

Neither of us uses techniques that would increase our odds of landing these tasty fish. In my 44 years on the planet, I have only landed 3 keepers (one 14" fish back in the early 90's in Lake Mohall, one 16" fish at the beach I fish in the fall at B.A.C.E. Lake, and this 20" fish).

This is the first one I have kept. Probably end up fried and in my belly on Sunday....

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top