Today's music?



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Friday, Jul. 19, 2002 - 5:28 p.m.

The blues, cir.2002, an arrest for the D.D.Neighbor, and what�s now in canning jars�

Since it�s Friday night, I know you don�t have much time.

I will make this a short entry (writing-wise). I will leave you with photos from what Lease and I enjoyed last night.

Our town (Mohall, for those just tuning in0 doesn�t have much to offer when it comes to pop culture or the arts. Whenever any musical act or performing artist makes a rare stop here, we try to find a way to check them out.

Last night was one of those nights.

Our downtown chamber of commerce has initiated a �Blues in the Park� series, bringing musicians who perform the blues to our 130+ year-old central park for one weeknight a month during the summer. We missed the first act back in June, but from what I have gathered , they played a big band style of blues.

I can pass on that.

Last night, the act was a man originally from Toronto, Canada-that hotbed for southern blues guitarist.

The artist was a young guitarist named Anthony Gomes . He now is based in Tennessee. His guitar playing reminded me somewhat of Stevie Ray Vaughn. His vocals were another story.

This young man has an unbelievable voice. If all you could do was hear his voice, you would swear he was a 70-year-old black man from Mississippi. He growls his vocals, evoking the sound of Bobby �Blue� Bland or Muddy waters. A strange sound, coming from such a slight, young white man.

That�s the way I felt, anyway. Go to his home page, and listen to his sound clips.

He has a new album coming out next month. I will be looking for it��


Here are a few more photos for you perusal:

The first one is of the drummer for the opening act, �The Dixie Kings�. They also played electric blues, and did it well.

The reason for the photo? I thought you might like to see what Barry Bostwick is doing this summer, now that �Spin City� is on hiatus:


This young lady enjoyed the music last night. She started dancing with the first song by the Dixie Kings, and she didn�t stop until Gomes was playing his encore:


The last picture speaks for itself.

Redhead seemed to be having a great time, watching the bands.

I feel sorry for the dog.

That�s all I can say�.


I took off from work early today. Two hours personal business.

I did it to can stuff.

I made a batch of sweet pickled beets, and another batch of onion relish (because my Bro-in-law Mark mentioned how much he loves it).

Took about 3 hours of sweaty work.

I can�t open any of this until it ages for at least 6 weeks.

I will let you know how it turned out then.


One last thing:

Lease just came home, and she told me some wild news.

The DrugDealingNeighbor is in jail, but not for what you might think.

He was the man that the police were looking for last night for a hit-and-run accident.

Seems he ran over two thugs with his SUV. He told the police that they were trying to rob him!

Can you imagine that?

He was in one of the rougher parts of town (not our neighborhood, thankfully!), and he drove away after driving over their bodies. One is in critical, the other serious.

He later abandoned his car. They ran the tags, and then arrested him at home.

I knew nothing about this. It happened while we were at work yesterday.

This is not what I meant when I said that I would expected to have news about him soon .

I would believe he was being robbed, but not for the reasons he gave the police.

How this will affect the impending battering-ram-to-his-front-door, I do not know.

Real life: so much stranger than fiction��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top