Today's music?

Kings of Leon - "Youth and Young Manhood" (2003- RCA records)...retro-southern rock by three brothers and their cousin...this



My Photographs

You like photos? I love taking them. Click here, if you wanna see some of my work


Is a photo missing on an older entry? Click here to find it at Photogra!



The Other Links

Back Issues

Now

About Me

Notes Are Good!


Andrew's Baby

Favorites and Rings are now here!


The life you save might be mine!



Thursday, Oct. 23, 2003 - 8:35 p.m.

I won�t bore you with all the details of my day�.photos to fill the time instead

Another day in paradise.

Also known as the toolroom at NDDOT, Mohall facility.

I am between shipments of yearly orders and the commencing of brine-making season.

So today I did my bets to stay awake. I had to be around for the guys who are in the yard, making sure our trucks are ready for snow season. This leaves plenty of time to stare at imperfections on the wall, and to answer the phone to talk to 85-year-old retirees complain about the crooked 35-mph sign in front of their retirement home.

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

I did clean up the flowerbeds in front of the breakroom. I have ignored the dead zinnias and marigolds since the frost got them a few weeks back, but today I found the time to rip them out.

Anything�s better than wall staring�.


Fred �Rerun� Berry passed away yesterday.

That�s sad. If you are over the age of 35, you know the work of this man. He was the lock-step dancing, �Heeeyyyy!� guy from the old ABC program �What�s Happening!�. Even though he never really did anything besides that in his career (cashing in on the role even recently- he was one of the �celebrities� you could pay $19.99 to have them call someone you know with a birthday message or whatever), he was a memorable part of my high school years.

He is the third member of the cast of that program who has passed away in recent years.

I guess Raj and Dwayne better watch their backsides�.


Homemade pizza is too much work for a weekday dinner.

Common sense, but I made it tonight anyway.

After mowing most of the lawn.

Stoopid me ��.


I have worked a little more on the digital photos from Lease and my trip to Carbondale and southern Illinois last weekend, and I have a few for you to check out:

I was wading in about 2 feet of water on Friday (just before I caught the 9lb catfish,), and I noticed the roots of this cedar tree, overhanging the water. Looked kinda spooky, but cool at the same time.

At least I thought so�


Yours truly, enjoying my favorite hobby at one of my favorite spots on this planet:

The largest bluegill I have ever caught came from this lake. It was 10� long, and looked like a paper plate.

I caught it on Lease and my honeymoon in 1980.

I have fallen into this lake twice, fell out of a canoe with Zackal and Roby on the bank, empting their bladders and laughing their asses off. I hooked and lost a very large rainbow trout fishing in the deepest part of this lake back in 1980 (Gary tried to land him for me, but the line pulled out of his mouth. I will never forget the sight of this large, multi-colored fish as he slowly came up from the deep at the spillway).I have spent many hours trying to figure out the secret of catching the huge bluegills in this odd lake (20 deep at the shoreline is normal, all rock drop-offs and banks, and maximum depth of 85� have made this one of the most unique lakes in the state of Illinois, and one of the hardest lakes to learn to fish, too). Codeman, J-rod and I saw a mountain lion in the road there a few years back. Mountain lions don�t live in Illinois, or so the �experts� say.

I never have caught many fish on this lake. But the scenery is just so breathtakingly beautiful, I always make it a point to stop here for a little time on every trip back to the area.

If I ever find a way to relocate there (retirement?), learning what it takes to catch the huge bluegill on this body of water will be my main fishing goal�.


One last shot:

This is a photo of the Little Grand Canyon, shot through a tree in shade on our side of the drop off.

Like I said before- we will have to visit this site when the ground isn�t covered with water and wet leaves. We couldn�t make it all the way to the bottom because it was too slippery for old folks like us��

Antique - Futuristic


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Have You Read These?

A hot day for a wedding...9:26 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 11, 2009

So bad - but so funny, too.10:33 p.m. - Saturday, Jun. 13, 2009

Evil Black Walnut Tree from Hell!- times up!6:41 a.m. - Thursday, Apr. 23, 2009

My next door neighbor was on the Today Show?8:57 p.m. - Tuesday, Mar. 31, 2009

This qualifies as a "oh crap!" moment:9:55 p.m. - Monday, Mar. 30, 2009

Back to top